Chemistry
Chemistry by ISBN: 1938168399Publication Date: 2015-03-12Chemistry is designed for the two-semester general chemistry course. For many students, this course provides the foundation to a career in chemistry, while for others, this may be their only college-level science course. As such, this textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The text has been developed to meet the scope and sequence of most general chemistry courses. At the same time, the book includes a number of innovative features designed to enhance student learning. A strength of Chemistry is that instructors can customize the book, adapting it to the approach that works best in their classroom.
Chemistry: Atoms First by ISBN: 1938168151Publication Date: 2020-02-12An adaptation of the OpenStax Chemistry text and covers scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Reordered to fit an atoms first approach, this title introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, delaying the introduction of more abstract material so students have time to acclimate to the study of chemistry. Chemistry: Atoms First also provides a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course.
Thermodynamics and Chemistry by Publication Date: 2019Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.
- Organic Chemistry with a Biological EmphasisFrom UC Davis's ChemWiki, this textbook uses biological molecules and biochemical reactions to explain and illustrate the central concepts of organic chemistry.
- Chemical Principles, 3rd EditionA CalTech title, this is an introductory college-level text for General Chemistry.
- ChemWiki CoreUC Davis's ChemWiki includes modules on the core information in the fields of organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, biochemistry, physical chemistry, and analytical chemistry.
- MIT Open Courseware ChemistryMIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses in Chemistry. Course format generally includes lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
- WebSpectra -Spectroscopy Problem SolvingThis site was established to provide chemistry students with a library of spectroscopy problems. Interpretation of spectra is a technique that requires practice - this site provides 1H NMR and 13C NMR, DEPT, COSY and IR spectra of various compounds for students to interpret.
- Khan Academy ChemistryThese short (5 to 12 minute) videos cover lower-division chemistry topics.
- Virtual Chemistry LabHighly reviewed by MERLOT peers - "Here's your chance to mix chemicals without wearing safety goggles. You won't spill any acid on the spectrometer in this lab. Choose solutions from the vast database and mix 'em together till the cloned cows come home. Marvel as the chemical solutions react in real time. "
- Ideal Gas Law SimulationsUsed in courses across the CSU - "An effective tool to help students learn about all aspects of the ideal gas law. One of the best web gas law simulations."
- Interactive Simulations for General ChemistryThe collection of interactive simulations covers a wide range of general chemistry topics, with each simulation addressing key concepts and enable students to practice and teachers to demonstrate these topics.
- ChemWiki Textbook MapsChemWiki is maintained by UC Davis and is a collaborative approach to chemistry education. Its Textbook Maps matches ChemWiki's openly available material to the contents of popular textbooks. Physical, theoretical, organic, inorganic, analytical, and general chemistry textbooks are included.