- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Literature Searches for Animal Testing Alternatives
Literature Searches for Animal Testing Alternatives
For help completing IACUC protocol applications.
UTSA Subscribed Databases
UTSA Libraries subscribes to a number of subject-specific and general science/health databases that contain information relevant to research in searching for animal testing alternatives. They are available both on- and off-campus to UTSA affiliates using your abc123 and pass phrase.
- IACUC EBSCO Lit SearchYou can use the search tool here to search the following databases from a single search box - Academic Search Complete, Agricola, Alt HealthWatch, Biological Abstracts, Health Source, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, EBSCO Science & Technology Collection
- IACUC ProQuest SearchThis search will be of more use for research in Environmental Science & Anthropology. Searches the following databases from a single search bar - GeoRef, ProQuest Academic Complete, ProQuest Natural Science Collection, ProQuest Science Database,
- MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowProvides article citations from over 4,800 journals published in the United States and seventy other countries. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources in allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. NOTE - PubMed is an interface for searching MEDLINE and not a separate database
- Agricola (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window(AGRICultural OnLine Access) Consists of two freely accessible, web-based resources published by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. The Online Public Access Catalog describes books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by the National Agricultural Library. The Journal Article Citation Index describes journal articles, book chapters, reports, reprints, and other research literature on agriculture and related fields such as chemistry, energy, food science, geography, life science, natural resources, and veterinary medicine.
- Biological Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic references and abstracts of international life science journal literature. Includes citations to articles about agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Only a few people can use this database at one time.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes more than 25 databases covering all aspects of biological and related fields, such as bacteriology, bioengineering, ecology, immunology, micro and molecular biology, neurosciences, protozoology, toxicology, virology and zoology. Provides access to literature from scholarly and trade journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, selected books and other materials.