Latinx Theater and Drama

Resources on playwrights, criticism, reviews, and theater resources at the UTSA Libraries.

Streaming Video

Hemispheric Digital Library
The Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library (HIDVL) is the first major digital video library of performance practices in the Americas. Created in partnership with NYU Libraries and with the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, this growing repository guarantees historical preservation and free, online access to almost 900 hours of video through the Hemispheric Institute website. With video documentation spanning from the 1970’s to the present, the collections seek to promote dialogue and a deeper understanding of performance and politics in the Americas.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
Alexander Street This link opens in a new window
Cross-search a multidisciplinary suite of streaming video and audio, music scores, film scripts and text collections. Videos can be linked or embedded and include full, searchable transcripts. Use Advanced Search to specify collections or choose parameters such as language or format.

Collections include: