- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Latinx Theater and Drama
Latinx Theater and Drama
Resources on playwrights, criticism, reviews, and theater resources at the UTSA Libraries.
Historical and Contemporary Newspapers
- Latin American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowMore than 280 newspapers published during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes titles from more than 20 countries in the region, from Argentina to Venezuela.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text current and historical newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority presses of the U.S. and Canada. Provides the unique viewpoint of Hispanic, Native Peoples, African American, Caribbean, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, and Jewish communities. Dates of coverage: 1959-current.
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies at the University of Houston.
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures digitized historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes more than 1,100 digitized historical books, as well as Hispanic newspapers, political and religious pamphlets, and essays.
Also called: Latino-Hispanic American Experience Series 1
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 2 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers: contains a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, civil rights, religious thought, and growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains over 250,000 pages of personal and archival manuscript collections, 3000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, and hundreds of rare books. Content is drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project”.
Also called: Latino-Hispanic American Experience Series 2
- Latin American Women Writers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowConsists of an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writers from 19 countries, including Mexico and countries in both Central and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries, which address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region. Currently features 36 plays and over 28,000 pages of prose. When completed, the collection will contain 300 plays and 100,000 pages of poetry and prose.
- Latino Literature (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowContains over 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States, as well as Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. Nearly 800 of the works are previously unpublished.