- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Latino / Latina / Hispanic Studies
Latino / Latina / Hispanic Studies
Sources of information on Latino/Latina studies
UTSA Faculty Books - Mexican American Studies
- Revolutionary Women of Texas and Mexico : Portraits of Soldaderas, Saints, and Subversives by Kathy Sosa, Ellen Riojas Clark, Jennifer Speed, Dolores Huerta, Norma Elia Cantú, Kathy Sosa, and Lionel SosaCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2020Moving portraits of eighteen women hailing from Texas and Mexico who revolutionized their worlds.
- Despertando el Ser : Transforming Latino Teachers' Identities, Consciousness, and Beliefs by Belinda Bustos Flores (Editor); Ellen Riojas Clark (Editor)Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor LB2840 .D454 2017Publication Date: 2017This collection of essays presents a theoretically grounded and research-based process in which the multiple facets of self are explored.
- At the Risk of Seeming Ridiculous: Poems from Cuba Libre : Venceremos Brigade Contingents 37, 38, 39 & 40 by Ben OlguínCall Number: PQ7409.3.O44 A92 2014Publication Date: 2014JPL
- Baby Coyote and the Old Lady (El Coyotito y la Viejita) by Carmen Tafolla; Matt Novak (Illustrator)Call Number: PS3570 .A295 B3 2000Publication Date: 2006At JPL, Downtown and Special Collections
- Canicula: Snapshots of a Girlhood en la Frontera by Norma Elia CantúCall Number: PS3553.A555 C36 1995Publication Date: 1995At JPL and Special Collections
Online in Latin Literature and netLibrary
- Cantos de Adolescencia=Songs of Youth (1932-1937) by Américo Paredes; B. V. Olguín (Translator, Annotations by, Introduction by); Omar Vásquez Barbosa (Translator, Annotations by, Introduction by);Call Number: PQ7297.A1 A2 2007Publication Date: 2007At JPL and Special Collections
- Chicana Traditions: Continuity and Change by Norma Elia Cantú (Editor); Olga Nájera-Ramírez (Editor)Call Number: E184 .M5 C4 2002Publication Date: 2002JPL, DT, Special Collections
- Chicano Empowerment and Bilingual Education: movimiento Politics in Crystal City, Texas by Armando L. TrujilloCall Number: LC2688 .C79 T78 1998Publication Date: 1998At JPL and Downtown
- Curandera by Carmen TafollaCall Number: PS3570.A295 C9Publication Date: 2004Available in Special Collections
- Dancing Across Borders: Danzas y Bailes Mexicanos by Olga Nájera-Ramírez (Editor); Norma E. Cantu (Editor); Brenda M. Romero (Editor)Call Number: GV1627 .D355 2009Publication Date: 2009At JPL
- Determination Of Giftedness In Lower Socio-Economic Mexican American Third Grade Students by Ellen Riojas ClarkCall Number: BF723 .G5 C53 1981Publication Date: 1981Thesis (PH. D.)--University of Texas at Austin
- Entre Guadalupe y Malinche: Tejanas in Literature and Art by Inés Hernández-Ávila (Editor); Norma Elia Cantú (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2016F395.M5 H47 2016
- An Examination of Bilingual Educators' Teaching Approaches and the Pedagogical Frameworks that Inform their Practices by Lilliana Patricia SaldañaCall Number: LD5318 .A802 S35ISBN: THESIS (M.A.)--UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIOPublication Date: 2002At JPL and UTSA Archives
- Feminism on the Border: Chicana Gender Politics and Literature by Sonia Saldívar-HullCall Number: PS374 .M4837 S25 2000Publication Date: 2000At JPL and Downtown
- Fiesta Babies by Amy Cordova (Illustrator); Carmen TafollaCall Number: PZ8.3.T114915 Fi 2010 (JPL and Downtown)Publication Date: 2010At JPL and Downtown Juvenile
- The Holy Tortilla and a Pot of Beans: A Feast of Short Fiction by Carmen TafollaCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2008Also print: PS3570.A255 H66 2008 JPL, Downtown and Special Collections.
- Homegirls in the Public Sphere by Marie Keta MirandaCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2003Also print: HV6439.U7 O195 2003 (JPL & Special Collections)
- The Illusion of Inclusion: the Untold Political Story of San Antonio by Rodolfo RosalesCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2000Also print F394.S29 M57 2000( JPL, Special Collections and ITC).
- Immigrant Voices: In Search of Educational Equity by Enrique T. Trueba (Editor)Call Number: LC3746 .I6 2000Publication Date: 2000Chapter: Bilingual Education in an Immigrant Community: Proposition 227 in California (p. 75-92) -- by M. Orellana, Lucila D. Ek, and A. Hernandez
- Inside the Latin@ Experience: A Latin@ Studies Reader by Norma E. Cantú (Editor); María E. Franquiz (Editor)Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor E184.S75 I57 2010Publication Date: 2010
- La Pinta: Chicana/o Prisoner Literature, Culture, and Politics by B. V. OlguínCall Number: HV9466 .O54 2010ISBN: 0292719612Publication Date: 2010At JPL and Downtown
- Las Hijas de Juan: Daughters Betrayed by Josie Méndez-NegreteCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2006Shatters the silence surrounding experiences of incest within a working-class Mexican American family. Both a feminist memoir and a hopeful meditation on healing,
Also in print: PS3613.E46 H55 2006 (JPL & Special Collections)
- Latina Legislator : Leticia Van de Putte and the Road to Leadership by Sharon A. NavarroCall Number: F391.4.V36 N38 2008Publication Date: 2008At JPL and Special Collections
- Latinas in American Politics: Changing and Embracing Political Tradition by Sharon A. Navarro, et al (editor)Call Number: E184.S75 L349 2016Publication Date: 2016JPL
- Latino Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook by Sharon Ann Navarro (Editor); Armando Xavier Mejia (Editor); Raymond A. Smith (Editor)Call Number: E184.S75 L3557 2004Publication Date: 2004At JPL
- A Life Crossing Borders : Memoir of a Mexican-American Confederate by Santiago Tafolla; Carmen Tafolla (Editor); Laura Tafolla (Editor)Call Number: E84.M5 T35 2010Publication Date: 2009JPL & Downtown
- A Life on Hold: Living with Schizophrenia by Josie Méndez-NegreteCall Number: RC514 .M436 2015Publication Date: 2015JPL
- Moctezuma's Table: Rolando Briseño's Mexican and Chicano Tablescapes by Rolando Briseño; Norma E. Cantú (Editor)Call Number: JPL & Downtown N6537.B6952 M63 2010ISBN: 1603441832Publication Date: 2010
- Paths to Discovery: Autobiographies From Chicanas With Careers In Science, Mathematics, And Engineering by Aida Hurtado (Introduction by); Norma E. Cantu (Editor)Call Number: Q141 .P3746 2008Publication Date: 2011JPL & Downtown
- Políticas: Latina Public Officials in Texas by Sonia R. García; Valerie Martinez-Ebers; Irasema Coronado; Sharon A. Navarro; Patricia A. Jaramillo; Patricia Madrid (Foreword by); Sonia R. GarciaCall Number: HQ1236.5.U6 P655 2008Publication Date: 2008JPL & Special Collections. Also available online through NetLibrary.
- Sonnets and Salsa by Carmen TafollaCall Number: PS3570 .A295 S665 2001Publication Date: 2004At JPL, Downtown and Special Collections. Also available online.
- Survival Instructions by Carmen TafollaCall Number: PS3570.A255 S87 2013Publication Date: 2013Rare Books
Chapbook No. 58 of an edition of 70; autographed by the author.
- Tamales, Comadres, and the Meaning of Civilization : Secrets, Recipes, History, Anecdotes, and A Lot of Fun by Ellen Riojas Clark; Carmen TafollaCall Number: TX836 .T36 2011Publication Date: 2011Available in JPL and Special Collections
- Teacher Preparation for Bilingual Student Populations: Educar Para Transformar by Belinda Bustos Flores (Editor); Rosa Hernández Sheets (Editor); Ellen Riojas Clark (Editor)Call Number: LC3728 .T425 2010Publication Date: 2010At JPL and Downtown
- That's Not Fair! : Emma Tenayuca's Struggle For Justice = No Es Justo! : La Lucha De Emma Tenayuca Por La Justicia by Carmen Tafolla; Sharyll Teneyuca; Terry Ybáñez (Illustrator)Call Number: HD6509.T46 T34 2008 (JPL Juvenile, Downtown and Special Collections)Publication Date: 2008
- This River Here: Poems of San Antonio by Carmen TafollaCall Number: PS3570.A255 A6 2014Publication Date: 2014JPL & Special Collections
- Transformations of la Familia on the U. S. - Mexico Border by Raquel R. Marquez (Editor); Harriett D. Romo (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2008Also in print, HQ549 .T73 2008 at JPL and Downtown and Special Collections.
- What Can You Do with a Paleta? = ¿Qué puedes hacer con una paleta? by Carmen Tafolla; Magaly Morales (Illustrator)Call Number: PZ7.T29 Wha 2014Publication Date: 2009 / 2014JPL & Downtown Juvenile collections and Rare Books
- What Can You Do with a Rebozo? by Carmen Tafolla; Amy Córdova (Illustrator)Call Number: PZ8.3.T114915 WhaPublication Date: 2008At JPL Juvenile and Downtown Juvenile
- Redeeming La Raza: Transborder Modernity, Race, Respectability, and Right by Gabriela GonzalezCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2018Examines the gendered and class-conscious political activism of Mexican-origin people in Texas from 1900 to 1950.
- The Cinematic Art of Eliseo Subiela, Argentine Filmmaker by Nancy J. Membrez (Editor)Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN1998.3.S83 C56 2007Publication Date: 2007Critical studies dealing with the work of Argentine filmmaker, Eliseo Subiela: his principle filmic texts; overarching cinematic motifs; and literary cultural influences. Also included is an in-depth interview with the filmmaker in English.
- Alter: Latin@ Speculative Literature, Film, and Popular Culture by Cathryn Josefina Merla-Watson (Editor); B. V. Olguin (Editor)Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor PS153.H56 A59 2017Publication Date: 2017As the first collection engaging Chicana/o and Latina/o speculative cultural production, provides a comprehensive alternative to the view of speculative fiction as a largely white, male, Eurocentric, and heteronormative genre. It features original essays from more than twenty-five scholars as well as interviews, manifestos, short fiction, and new works from Chicana/o and Latina/o artists.
- In the Loop: A Political and Economic History of San Antonio by David R. JohnsonCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2020Culmination of urban historian David Johnson's extensive research into the development of Texas's oldest city. Beginning with its formation more than 300 years ago, lays out the factors that drove the largely uneven and unplanned distribution of resources and amenities and analyzes the demographics that transformed the city from a frontier settlement into a diverse and complex modern metropolis. Deep dives into city archives rounded out portraits of Sam Maverick, Henry B. Gonzales, Lila Cockrell, and others.
- Latinos in the United States: Diversity and Change by Rogelio SÃ¡enz; Maria Cristina MoralesCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor E184.S75 S228 2015Publication Date: 2015Sociological examination of Latinos in the U;S;. focusing on the numerous diverse groups and the role that the U.S. government has played in establishing immigration from Latin America.
- The International Handbook of the Demography of Race and Ethnicity by Rogelio Sáenz (Editor); David G. Embrick (Editor); Néstor P. Rodríguez (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2015Examining key countries in every region of world, this handbook presents population profiles and analyses concerning racial/ethnic disparities and changing intergroup relations.
- Mexican Migration to the United States : Perspectives from Both Sides of the Border by Harriett D. Romo (Editor); Olivia Mogollon-Lopez (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2016Gathering a transnational group of prominent researchers, including leading Mexican scholars whose work is not readily available in the United States and academics from US universities, Mexican Migration to the United States brings together an array of often-overlooked viewpoints, reflecting the interconnectedness of immigration policy.