U.S. Census Bureau’s new platform to access detailed tables and maps for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, American Community Survey, and more. Users can generate simple visualizations, extract reports, and explore census data by theme or topic. data.census.gov is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.
data.census.gov replaces American FactFinder, which will be retired on March 31.
• Access census.data.gov tutorials.
• Read about the transition from American FactFinder to data.census.gov.
Summarizes U.S. social, political and economic data in convenient tables from a wide variety of Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. Tables available in either PDF or Excel. Check original sources of data for more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each PDF section. Updated monthly. For earlier editions (1970-current) use drop down menu in database. Archived government editions (1878-2012) available free at U.S. Census Bureau and Cybercemetery sites. Tip sheet.
Historical statistics for the U.S. from colonial times through the 20th century, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, as well as governance and international relations. Recently updated.
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal and state agencies, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities. Includes indexing/abstracting and tabular data from 1973 to present. Significant full-text content from 1995 to the present. Additional full-text content is available on microfiche; inquire at the Information Desk for assistance.
Free government website from the Department of Homeland Security. Immigration statistics, report on removal of illegal immigrants, report on refugees and asylees, and non-immigrant admissions to the the U. S.
Full text access to documents related to national security, emergency preparedness, terrorism, border security and related topics from federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the Dudley Knox Library of the Naval Postgraduate School.
Turn of the century files cover immigration of various groups to the United States, including Japanese and Chinese immigration, European immigration, and Mexican immigration between 1906-1930. There are also extensive files on the regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Free website of the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), an independent, nonpartisan think tank in Washington, DC that provides analysis and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. Their page on U.S. immigration includes tables and graphs of a number of relevant characteristics.