- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Latino / Latina / Hispanic Studies
Latino / Latina / Hispanic Studies
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures digitized historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes more than 1,100 digitized historical books, as well as Hispanic newspapers, political and religious pamphlets, and essays.
Also called: Latino-Hispanic American Experience Series 1
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 2 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers: contains a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, civil rights, religious thought, and growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains over 250,000 pages of personal and archival manuscript collections, 3000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, and hundreds of rare books. Content is drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project”.
Also called: Latino-Hispanic American Experience Series 2
- New Mexico Digital CollectionsDigitized primary sources from the University of New Mexico and other New Mexico cultural heritage institutions. Most content focuses on New Mexico history, water and land issues, with additional materials on Latin American art and politics.
- UAiRUniversity of Arizona’s Institutional Repository includes materials from a wide range of academic disciplines, including open access journals, Latina/o studies, Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School Collection, Documentary Relations of the Southwest, and Morales de Escárcega Book Collection.
- CalisphereContains more than 200,000 digitized items from University of California system, as well as other cultural heritage repositories, that document California’s history and culture. Browsable subject list is particularly useful.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (EastView Press) This link opens in a new windowA growing collection of newspapers from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods providing rare documentation of the dramatic events including partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Collection will eventually contain over 1,000 titles. (1807-1929)
- Mexican Cookbook Collection (UTSA)Over 1,600 titles in English and Spanish documenting the variety and history of Mexican cuisine from 1789 to the present.
- UTSA Mexican Cookbook Collection Manuscript Recipe BooksDigitized selected manuscript recipe books from UTSA;s Mexican Cookbook Collection.
- World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean (Historical Collections) (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFull image historical and primary source documents from Mexico (including Texas/Tejas), Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, maps, diaries, historical newspapers & monographs, pamphlets, Department of State diplomatic records and more. Collected from archives in U.S. and Europe. Materials in English, Spanish, Portuguese and other languages.
- Bracero History ArchiveOral histories, artifacts and images pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Joint Project of Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and the Smithsonian Institution National Museum of American History.
- Institute of Oral History and the Bracero History ArchiveThe Institute of Oral History was established in 1972 for the purpose of "preserving the history of the region adjacent to the Rio Grande both in the United States and in Mexico." Since that time, the Institute has built one of the largest border-related oral history collections in the United States. While an emphasis has been on the El Paso-Ciudad Juárez region, the collection also contains interviews dealing with the history of communities all along the U.S.-Mexico border. These materials cover a wide range of subjects, spanning social, economic, political, cultural and artistic concerns.
- Center for Comparative Immigration Studies (CCIS)Papers presented at CCIS seminars and conferences. University of California San Diego.
- Julian Samora Research Institute (JSRI)JSRI is committed to the generation, transmission, and application of knowledge to serve the needs of Latino communities in the Midwest. Provides free online access to the Julian Samora Working Papers Series, Occasional Papers Series, and Research Report Series.
- Migration Policy InstituteAn independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. Analyze and view data by region.
- UniDosUS (formerly National Council of La Raza)Largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the U.S. Information on current issues.
- Tomas Rivera Policy InstituteFounded in 1985, advances informed policy on key issues affecting Latino communities. Offers original research, student activities and policy solutions.
- Pew Research Center: Hispanic Trends ProjectPew Research Center is a nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, and media analysis.
- Chicano Studies Library Serial CollectionJPL Microfilm Cabinets (4th Floor) E184 .M5 C461
A set of 577 microfilms of Chicano periodicals, journals, newsletters and journals published throughout the United States from 1855 to 1995. This comprehensive group of periodicals was gathered by the Chicano Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Use guide in 3rd Floor JPL Stacks E184 .M5 C461 to locate titles or consult title list (pdf).
- Mexican Archives of New Mexico, 1821-1846JPL Microfilm Cabinets (4th Floor) F800 .M49 (Reel 1 – Reel 43)
- Records of the Immigration and Naturalization ServiceFinding Aid: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Series A
Guide Location: JPL 3rd Floor Stacks JV6455 .R436 Guide Library has: pt.1 - pt.6
Note: Microfilm located offsite. All content now available through Immigration: Records of the INS 1880-1930
Series A, Subject correspondence files. Part 1: Asian immigration and exclusion, 1906-1913
JV6455 .R436 pt.1 (Reel 1 - Reel 30)
Series A, Subject correspondence files. Supplement to Part 1:
Asian immigration and exclusion, 1898-1941
JV6455 .R436 pt.1 suppl. (Reel 1 - Reel 16)
Series A, Subject correspondence files. Part 3: Ellis Island, 1900-1933
JV6455 .R436 pt.3 (Reel 1 - Reel 18)
Series A : Subject correspondence files. Part 4: European investigations, 1898-1936
JV6455 .R436 pt.4 (Reel 1 - Reel 10)
Series A, Subject correspondence files. Part 2: Mexican immigration, 1906-1930
JV6455 .R436 pt.2 (Reel 1 - Reel 17)
Series A, Subject correspondence files. Part 5: Prostitution and "White Slavery," 1902-1933
JV6455 .R436 pt.5 ( Reel 1 - Reel 7 )
Series A, Subject correspondence files. Part 6: Suppression of aliens
JV6455 .R436 pt.6 ( Reel 1 - Reel 21)
- Territorial Archives of New Mexico, 1846 – 1912JPL Microfilm Cabinet (4th Floor) F801 .T377 (Reel 1 – Reel 189)
Finding Aid: Territorial Archives of New Mexico Guide
Guide Location: JPL 3rd Floor Stacks, F801 .T377
United Farm Workers
- United Farm Workers Official SiteFounded in 1962 by Cesar Chavez and currently active in 10 states, the UFW is the nation’s first successful and largest farm workers union.
- United Farm Workers Texas Photograph CollectionUTSA Special Collections.
1,700 photographs documenting the organization and field work activities of the Texas chapter of the United Farmworkers Union. Coverage: 1975 – 1999
- Farmworker Movement Documentation ProjectPrimary source materials including photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement. Presented and preserved by The Library, University of California San Diego.
Research Collections on Microfilm
United Farm Workers of America, Collections of the
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm HD6515.A292 A426 2009 (23 reels)
Microfilmed from collections at the Walter P. Reuther Library at Wayne State University.
Correspondence, clippings, reports, press releases, memoranda, newsletters, notes, and other materials relating to AWOC.
Collections of the United Farm Workers of America. Papers of the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee, 1959-1970
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm HD6515.A292 U55 2009 (7 reels)
Guide: Shelved with microfiche
Microfilmed from collections at the Walter P. Reuther Library at Wayne State University.
Collections of the United Farm Workers of America. Series 1, Office files of the President of the United Farm Workers of America
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm HD6515.A292 U544 2009 (46 reels)
Collection includes: executive correspondence and meeting minutes, as well organizer's reports from the field, testimony and speeches, boycott flyers, letters from supporters and autograph seekers, songs, and prayers, communications between Chavez and his organizers, the Kennedy's, the Church hierarchy, civil rights leaders, union leaders, and Chicano militants.
FBI File on Cesar Chavez & United Farm Workers
HD6509 .C47 F352 1995b (2 reels)
Cesar Chavez was the Founder and Director of the National Farm Workers Association, later known as the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee. The FBI investigated Mr. Chavez and his organization based on allegations in 1965 that he and others within the organization had communist affiliations.
National Farm Workers Association Records, 1960-1967
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm Cabinet HD6515.A292 N385 2009 (10 reels)
Correspondence, clippings, memoranda, reports, financial papers, speeches, pamphlets, minutes, and other materials relating to the National Farm Workers Association.