- Find Information
- Research Guides
- India & South Asia
India & South Asia
A guide to primary and secondary sources for research on India and South Asia.
Primary Source Material
Sample searches. Use terms such as:
documents, letters, correspondence, writings, papers along with the name of a country or a person
Examples:
- documents india
- correspondence gandhi
Towards Freedom: Documents on the Movement for Independence in India by Call Number: DS480.82 .T86Each volume in the "Towards Freedom" series contains primary sources and archival documents related to a given year.
Women in Colonial India: Historical Documents and Sources by Call Number: HQ1742 .W65557 20135 volumes of primary source material
From Ghalib's Dilli to Lutyen's New Delhi by Call Number: DS486.D3 H373 2014
Films, Music, and Literature
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowCross-search a multidisciplinary suite of streaming video and audio, music scores, film scripts and text collections. Videos can be linked or embedded and include full, searchable transcripts. Use Advanced Search to specify collections or choose parameters such as language or format.
Collections include:
- Academic Video Online: Premium
- Anthropology Online
- Border and Migration Studies Online
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Early Encounters in North America
- Engineering Case Studies
- Film Scripts Online
- Filmakers Library Online
- Music and Performing Arts Online
- PBS Video Online
- African American Music Reference
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- Theatre in Context Collection
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Check out the Indian and South Asian Films guide for feature films, documentaries, and literature.
Background Information
Click on a title to check its availability.
An Atlas and Survey of South Asian History by Call Number: G2261.S1 S3 1995- A Historical Atlas of South Asia byCall Number: G2661 .S1 H5 1978
Atlas of Women and Men in India by Call Number: G2281 .G8 A8 1999
Inscribing South Asian Muslim Women: An Annotated Bibliography & Research Guide by Call Number: Z3185 .A36 2008
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives by Call Number: DS334.9 .C36 1989
Modern South Asia: History, Culture, Political Economy by Call Number: DS340 .B66 2011- South Asian Cultural Studies: A Bibliography byCall Number: DS339 .L36 1996
Selected Books
Click on a title to check its availability.
A Concise History of Modern India by Call Number: DS461 .M47 2012- The Moral and Political Writings of Mahatma Gandhi byCall Number: DS481.G3 A25 1986UTSA Libraries have vol. 1: Civilization, politics and religion
Nationalist Movement in India: A Reader by Call Number: DS480.45 .N32917 2009
The Partition of India by Call Number: DS480.842 .T34 2009
Labour Bondage in West India: From Past to Present by Call Number: HD4865 .I4 B74 2007
Dwelling in the Archive: Women Writing House, Home, and History in Late Colonial India by Call Number: PR9492.6 .W6 B87 2003Available in print and as an e-book- Status of Women in India byCall Number: HQ1742 .N415 2010
Gender and Discrimination: Health, Nutritional Status, and Role of Women in India by Call Number: HQ1237.5.I4 G46 2009
Hindu Wife, Hindu Nation: Community, Religion, and Cultural Nationalism by Call Number: HQ1173 .S27 2001
Death by Fire: Sati, Dowry Death, and Female Infanticide in Modern India by Call Number: HQ1742 .S42 2002
South Asian Diaspora
Caste
This is just a small sampling of the many books we have on the subject of caste. Click on a title to check its availability.
Caste by Call Number: DS422.C3 J623 2012
The Pariah Problem: Caste, Religion, and the Social in Modern India by Call Number: DS432.P25 V57 2014
The Caste Question: Dalits and the Politics of Modern India by Call Number: DS422.C3 R365 2009
Muslims in India
Click on a title to check its availability.
Handbook of Muslims in India: Empirical and Policy Perspectives by Call Number: DS432.M84 H36 2010
The Lives of Muslims in India: Politics, Exclusion and Violence by Call Number: DS432 Mus.Li 2012
Frontiers of Embedded Muslim Communities in India by Call Number: DS432.M84 F76 2011
Unequal Citizens: A Study of Muslim Women in India by Call Number: HQ1170 .H317 2004
Muslims of India: A Documentary Record by Call Number: DS432.M84 M88 2004
Islamic Civilization in South Asia: A History of Muslim Power and Presence in the Indian Subcontinent by Call Number: BP63.I4 A946 2013
