- Find Information
- Research Guides
- India & South Asia
India & South Asia
A guide to primary and secondary sources for research on India and South Asia.
Country Information
- CIA World Factbook Country ProfilesThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- CQ Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new windowOne you get into the CQ Electronic Library, click on the link for Political Handbook of the World. Maps, quick facts, and an overview of each country including government, political parties and communication.
Government and Politics
Click on a title to check its availability.
The British Papers: Secret and Confidential, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh by Call Number: DS480.84 .B695 2002Confidential British diplomatic dispatches have surfaced that provide a revealing view of events in the subcontinent from 1947 right up to 1969.
Towards Freedom: Documents on the Movement for Independence in India by Call Number: DS480.82 .T86Each volume in the "Towards Freedom" series contains primary sources and archival documents related to a given year.
- U.K. Parliamentary ArchivesProvides links to available digitized British government documents as well as information and primary sources on a variety of historical topics.
- The Constitution of IndiaThe Constitution of India in full text including amendments.
- Indian Constitutional Documents, 1773-1915, compiled and edited with an introductionCompiled to facilitate the study of Indian constitutional development, this volume includes important landmark statutes, speeches of responsible ministers in charge of the bills, Royal Proclamations and Announcements, and dispatches and resolutions of constitutional significance. Published in 1915. E-book from the Internet Archive.
- Indian Constitutional Documents, vol. iiIncludes the Government of India Acts, 1915 and 1916; including references to older statutes, together with an introductory account of the present working constitution of British India and a brief preliminary study of English political institutions. Published in 1918. E-book from the Internet Archive.
- Documents and extracts illustrative of the British period of Indian history. vol. 1 (Mainly constitutional), (1912)E-book from the Internet Archive.
- United Nations Human Rights - India HomepageIncludes reports about environmental, health, religious and gender issues for India.
Microfilm
- Confidential U. S. State Department Central Files. India Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949 byCall Number: DS480.84 .I56 F6 1945-49
- Confidential U. S. State Department Central Files. India Foreign Affairs, 1950-1954 byCall Number: DS480.84 .I56 F6 1950-54
- Confidential U. S. State Department Central Files. India Internal Affairs, 1945-1949 byCall Number: DS480.84 .I56 1945-49
- Confidential U. S. State Department Central Files. India Internal Affairs, 1950-1954 byCall Number: DS480.84 .I56 1950-54