India & South Asia

A wealth of information can be found in this collection of links to online resources for South Asia compiled on the pages of the Columbia University Libraries. Links to information about current issues, news sources, human rights, history, population, demographics, NGOs, literature, government, and politics and more.

A list of resources on various topics related to South Asia, in print and online, compiled by the University of California at Berkley Library. Sample topics include: South Asian Women's Studies, History, Literature, Human Rights, and Labor.

A collection of oral histories that cover the complete life story of each witness, providing details about pre-Partition life, the Partition experience, and post-Partition life changes. From Stanford University Libraries.

This online exhibition created in conjunction with a 2009 conference contains links to resources on a number of subjects including; Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, Dalit websites, Affirmative Action, etc. Some resources are restricted to Columbia University students and faculty.

Includes digitized content as well as links to images, historical and current census data, and maps.

Displays the results from a search of Duke Digital Libraries' collection of images pertaining to India. Includes photographs from India and advertising related to India.

The photographs were taken 1950-2000, with the bulk of the photos from the mid-1960s to the mid-1970s. The collection is a unique set of images that includes a significant representation of Indian art and architecture from the dynastic periods through the early 1960s, as well as art from Asia as a whole. The collection is organized by dynasty, location, and by century.

The poster collection represented in this archive is physically located in the offices of the feminist organization, Olakh, based in Vadodara, Gujarat, India. Members of Olakh have designed and produced some of these posters. Many others they have collected from different women’s groups and feminist organizations from all over India. Made available online by the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center, UW-Madison Libraries.

The poster collection represented in this archive is physically located in the offices of the feminist organization, Sahiyar, in Gujarat, India. Members of Sahiyar have designed and produced some of these posters. Many others they have collected from different women’s groups and feminist organizations from all over India. Made available online by the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center, UW-Madison Libraries.

The collection is rich in resources about South Asia from the 18th, 19, and 20th centuries, and filled with treasures on a variety of subjects, including history, travel writing, and literature. Several of these are rare items, held in the Special Research Collection, such as Views of India, an album of fifty-four water-color views of architectural sites at Agra, Delhi, and Mathura; Thomas Pennant’s Indian Zoology, a beautifully illustrated volume on animals and birds on the subcontinent; travel accounts by William Hodges, who accompanied Captain Cook on his second voyage; and art prints of Hindu icons by Atul Basu, a Calcutta (Kolkatta) artist, active in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

A diverse selection of digitized resources to support interdisciplinary scholarship in South Asian Studies. Consisting mostly of contemporary ephemera and items from the latter half of the twentieth century, the collection includes booklets, pamphlets, leaflets, and flyers produced by a variety of individuals and organizations. Subjects include religion, social movements, politics and government, women and women's rights, among others.

Provides transcripts, audio recordings, and video recordings (where available) that capture the experiences of South Asian immigrants to the U.S. The collection also includes the experiences of immigrants from Bangladesh, India Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.