- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Art & Art History
Art & Art History
Find authoritative sources for your art / art history paper or project.
Picture credit: Gaspar Enriquez, La Smiley: 15 Going On 30. 2008. Print. Serie Project, Inc. Print Collection. University of Texas at San Antonio Libraries, Special Collections, Copy and Reuse Restrictions Apply.
Additional Resources
Check out this additional Research Guide below for more image resources.
Key Resources
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA cross-disciplinary collection of millions of high-quality images, curated from the world's leading museums and archives. Browse or search for images, save images to "Workspace" folders, download, share, make presentations, and more. And, with Artstor’s images integrated alongside JSTOR’s library of full-text scholarship and other media, users can more easily situate image content in a historical, critical, or cultural context.
- AskArt.com This link opens in a new windowAskArt covers primarily American artists, including many regional artists, providing biography, images, citations, auction data, museums owning their work and galleries representing the artist's work. More than 200,000 artists are included.
- Parker Library on the Web This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of more than 550 rare illuminated medieval and Renaissance manuscripts from the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, UK. Includes bibliographical references and page-level annotations. Sixth to sixteenth centuries.
- Serie Project Print Collection at UTSA Libraries Special CollectionsSearch the digital images and descriptions of these limited edition prints produced through a type of screen printing called "serigraphy." Many of the works were created by Latina/o artists. See the actual prints in person in Special Collections at the John Peace Library.
- Google Arts & CultureExplore museum collections from around the world and view hundreds of artworks up close at amazing zoom levels. Take virtual tours, learn about art styles and movements, and explore artists, themes, and cultures. Free interactive website.
- WorldImagesApproximately 100,000 images from the California State University IMAGE Project. Search by keyword or browse by collections.
- The Drawing Center Viewing ProgramExamples of two dimensional contemporary work. Search for images by medium, keyword, or location.
- accessCeramics: A Contemporary Ceramics Image ResourceA growing collection of contemporary ceramics images.
- The Getty Search Gateway - Open Content ImagesThis search is a subset of the Getty's larger Search Gateway and focuses only on Open Content Images. Currently, there are more than 100,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. What is Open Content? These are available to the public for use without fees or restriction. Includes many different types of images, including drawings, watercolors, artist's sketchbooks, and architectural drawings.
- EuropeanaExplore the digital resources of Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Discover paintings, drawings, photographs, maps, music, films, books, letters, diaries and archival papers.
- NYARC - New York Art Resources ConsortiumNYARC consists of the research libraries of three leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. Search their unique research collections and digital collections.
Guides to Image Portals
- Digital Image Collections GuideA subject list of quality digital image collections on almost any topic imaginable! Most collections are freely available. Collections with a "lock" icon are subscription only. Check the UTSA Libraries' list of databases to see if we subscribe to any that are "locked."
- ArtcyclopediaA Portal to image websites. Search by artist's name, artwork title, art movement, museum, or medium.
Artstor Help
- Getting Started with ArtstorGeneral information on how to use Artstor.
- How to Use the Artstor Digital Library - Artstor YouTube VideosTutorials explaining how to use various tools within Artstor.
- How to Download a PowerPoint Presentation from ArtstorGreat for creating a PowerPoint presentation from images you found in Artstor.