- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Art & Art History
Art & Art History
Find authoritative sources for your art / art history paper or project.
Art Videos & Audio
Search Library Quick Search for DVDs on art topics that you can borrow for free.
- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowCross-search a multidisciplinary suite of streaming video and audio, music scores, film scripts and text collections. Videos can be linked or embedded and include full, searchable transcripts. Use Advanced Search to specify collections or choose parameters such as language or format.
Collections include:
- Academic Video Online: Premium
- Anthropology Online
- Border and Migration Studies Online
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Early Encounters in North America
- Engineering Case Studies
- Film Scripts Online
- Filmakers Library Online
- Music and Performing Arts Online
- PBS Video Online
- African American Music Reference
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- Theatre in Context Collection
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
- SAIC Digital Collections: Visiting Artists TalksAudio recordings of visiting artists' lectures from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Includes more than 200 lectures from the School's Visiting Artists Program between 1977-96. Among the audio files are talks by renowned contemporary artists and scholars Susan Sontag, Barbara Kruger, the Guerrilla Girls, Chuck Close, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Henry Louis Gates Jr., and many others.
- SAIC Digital Collections: Lectures by Stan BrakhageIncludes more than 100 audio recordings of classroom lectures from artist and SAIC faculty member Stan Brakhage between 1970-76.
- TED Talks on ArtArtists, designers and curators share their work, their process and their vision. Watch TED Talks from sculptors, painters, illustrators and photographers — and those who blur the boundaries.
- VimeoVideos shared by the people who created them. Music videos, experimental film, shorts, animation, educational content... you name it.
- UbuWeb - Film & VIdeoAvant-garde film and video.