Art & Art History

Find authoritative sources for your art / art history paper or project.

What's New in Texas?

Los Angeles Times: Museums & Art
Current museum and art news from the L.A. Times.
Los Angeles Times: Architecture & Design
Current architecture and design news from the L.A. Times.

Find contemporary criticism in newspapers detailing a particular art exhibition.
Consult online newspapers both current and historical.

America's Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 500 local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid advertising is excluded. Dates of coverage vary. Updated daily.
Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of over 170 regional newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press across a range of topics, including ecology, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and genetics. Alternative newsweeklies provide reviews of local theater, movies, books, and local attractions.
Art Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Selectively indexes and abstracts articles from art-related periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. Also indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Many articles in full text.

Newspaper Databases
Remember to check newspaper databases for exhibition announcements or artist interviews. For example, Alt-PressWatch provides the full text of over 170 regional newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Alternative newsweeklies provide reviews of local theater, movies, books, and local attractions. We also have access in other databases to the New York Times all the way back to the 1800s.