- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Executive Agencies and the Office of President
Executive Agencies and the Office of President
Info on Office of the President and Executive Agencies, including Budget, Presidential papers, regulations, Treaties and Executive Orders
Types of Presidential Documents
Executive Orders are signed documents, numbered consecutively, through which the President of the United States manages the operations of the Federal Government.
Proclamations are signed documents, numbered consecutively, through which the President of the United States communicates information on holidays, commemorations, special observances, and trade.
Administrative orders are unnumbered signed documents through which the President of the United States conducts the administrative operations of the Federal Government. Administrative orders include but are not limited to memoranda, notices, determinations, letters, and messages.
Executive Orders & Presidential Proclamations
Executive Orders are binding, unilateral proclamations used by a President to exercise authority. Presidential proclamations are more ceremonial in nature, such as declaring National Safe Boating Week.
- White House: Presidential ActionsExecutive Orders, Proclamations, and Memoranda for the current administration.
- American Presidency Project: Executive OrdersExecutive Orders (1826-current) and Proclamations (1789-current) From UC Santa Barbara.
- Federal Register via govinfo.govThe Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other presidential documents. Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). (1936-current) (Browse or use Advanced Search)
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowFederal Register (1938-current) and Code of Federal Regulations (1938-current) via ProQuest Congressional. Choose "Regulations" from top menu. (1980-current)
Executive Orders & Presidential Proclamations (1789-current)
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsOfficial publications of presidential statements, messages, remarks, addresses, news conferences, executive orders and proclamations and other materials released by the White House Press Office. Since 1974 the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents has been incorporated into the the Public Papers of the President. From govinfo.gov Updated daily.
- Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3) (GovInfo)Executive Orders and Proclamations are codified in Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations. (1992-2021) GovInfo. Search or browse.
- National Archives Executive Orders Disposition TablesJanuary 8, 1937-current
Information about Executive Orders, date signed, subject index, Federal Register citation, amendments (if any) and current status. - How to Cite Regulations, Other Agency and Executive MaterialFrom Cornell University Law School
Older Executive Orders & Proclamations
- CIS Index to Presidential Executive Orders & ProclamationsChronological list of executive orders, Washington to Wilson. (1789-1921)
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesPapers and speeches of the President of the United States issued by the Office of the Press Secretary. Browse or search via govinfo.gov
Include official photos section.
Covers the administrations of Presidents:
> Barack Obama (2009-2016)
> George W. Bush (2001-2009)
> William J. Clinton (1993-2001)
> George H. W. Bush (1989-1993 )
> Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)
> Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)
> Gerald Ford (1974-1977)
> Richard Nixon (1969-1974)
> Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969)
> John F. Kennedy (1961-1963)
> Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)
> Harry S. Truman (1945-1953)
> Herbert Hoover (1929-1933) - Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive OrdersNational Archives & Records Administration
April 13, 1945 - January 20, 1989 - United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)Print: Offsite - use Get It For Me KF63 .C65 (78th Congress 1944-2014) (no longer received)
Cumulates slip laws from each Congressional session. Contains complete text of public and private laws and concurrent resolutions passed during that session. Includes selected committee reports. Gives citations to U.S. Code and brief legislative history. From West Publishing. - Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3) (GovInfo)Executive Orders and Proclamations are codified in Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations. (1992-2021) GovInfo. Search or browse.
Unnumbered Executive Orders and Proclamations
- A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents 1789-1897 (via HathiTrust)The first Executive Order was issued in 1789 but the State Department did not begin numbering until 1862. Includes Inaugural addresses; Presidential communications and messages; Presidential vetoes; Printing; Speeches and addresses; State of the Union Address
Vol. 1 : Washington, Adams, Jefferson, Madison
Vol. 2 : Monroe, Adams, Jackson
Vol. 3 : Jackson, Van Buren,
Vol. 4 : Harrison, Tyler, Polk
Vol. 5 : Taylor, Fillmore, Pierce, Buchanan
Vol. 6 : Lincoln, Johnson
Vol. 7 : Grant, Hayes
Vol. 8 : Garfield, Arthur, Cleveland
Vol. 9 : Harrison, Cleveland
Vol. 10 : Appendex and Index
- Statutes at Large (American Memory Project)Statutes at Large is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register and National Archives and Records Administration.
Archival (1789-1845) (vol. 1-18): American Memory Project (Vols. 3, 4, 10 and 11 have many proclamations issued 1789-1859)
History of Executive Orders
- Executive Orders and Proclamations, 1933-99: Controversies with Congress and in the CourtsIdentifies Executive orders and proclamations from 1933 to 1999 that resulted in challenges either in Congress or in the courts. Congressional Research Service report. 1999
- Executive Order, Proclamation, or Executive Memorandum?Typical characteristics to tell them apart., Library of Congress
- Presidential Directives: Background and OverviewCRS Report. by Harold C. Relyea, specialist in American National Government, Government Division, Congressional Research Service. Updated November 26, 2008.
- Executive Orders: Issuance, Modification, and RevocationCongressional Research Service Report, April 16, 2014.