- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Spanish Language: Reading, Writing, Speaking
Spanish Language: Reading, Writing, Speaking
Library guide to resources for learning Spanish
Spanish Language Encyclopedias
- A Brief History of the Spanish Language byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4075 .P48 Available print and onlineCharts the evolution of Spanish from its Indo-European roots to its present form tracing the development of the language, including the structures and peculiarities of Latin, the historical and cultural events that influenced the shaping of the language, the nature of Medieval Spanish, the language myths, and the development of the language beyond the Iberian Peninsula, especially in the Americas.
- Diccionario de Historia de España byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor DP56 .D5 1968Three volume set of historical events, places and personages of Spain
- Enciclopedia de la Cultura Española byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor D12 .E5Five volume encyclopedia of the culture of Spain
- Enciclopedia de MéxicoCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor F1204 .E5 200514 volume reference encyclopedia about Mexico.
- Enciclopedia Oceano de México byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor F1204 .E52Four volumes covering the geography, history, economy, and arts of Mexico
- Milenios de México byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor F1204 .M955 1999Mexican cultural history. 3 volumes
- El Pequeño Larousse Ilustrado 2013 byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor and Downtown Library AG61 .L3A comprehensive Spanish-language dictionary and encyclopedia in one. Includes photographs, maps, biographical and geographical information.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to authoritative background information about writers, themes, and major works. It includes access to the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary series, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook.