- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Spanish Language: Reading, Writing, Speaking
Spanish Language: Reading, Writing, Speaking
Library guide to resources for learning Spanish
Spanish / English Dictionaries (print & online)
- Collins Spanish DictionaryCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4640 .C595Spanish / English English / Spanish
- Google TranslateWith more than 100 supported languages you can translate words, sentences, text and documents into or from your preferred language. Supports uploading and translation of documents including searchable PDFs.
Note: This is machine translation so 100% accuracy in translation and grammar not guaranteed.
- Oxford Spanish Dictionary : Spanish-English/English-SpanishCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor & Downtown PC4640 .O94 2008Over 300,000 words and phrases, and half a million translations. Discover more on oxforddictionalires.com,
- Harrap's Spanish and English Dictionary byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4640 .H37115,000 references and 170,000 translations, as well as colloquial and idiomatic language, Spanish verb tables, a detailed grammar summary, and a guide to written communication. An extensive 100-page guide to all aspects of Spanish grammar .
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCross searchable and browsable full text subject, language and quotation dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions. Content covers a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.
- Travlang's Translating DictionariesA wide selection of bilingual dictionaries of a variety of European languages including Spanish, Portuguese, English, German, Finnish, Dutch, Italian, French, Latin and Esperanto
Spanish Language Dictionaries (print & online)
- Diccionario Panhispánico de DudasElaborated by the 22 National Spanish Academies, with the goal of clarifying the use of the Spanish language. Contains appendices of abbreviations, symbols, conjugations, glossary of linguistic terms, localisms.
- Nuevo Tesoro Lexicográfico del Español (NTLLE) (14th Century - 1726)Extensive reference work which compiles entries from historical Spanish dictionaries
Location: JPL 3rd Floor PC4625 .A3 2001 - Diccionario de la Lengua EspañolaAuthoritative Spanish language dictionary from the Real Academia Española in Madrid. The Royal Academy of Spanish is the official institution specializing in Spanish lexicography, linguistics, grammar and orthography.
Also print: JPL 3rd Floor PC4625 .A3 2001
- Diccionario del Español Actual byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4625 .S43 (2 volumes)Developed over a thirty-year period, this dictionary is rich in grammatical information and sentence syntax.
- El Pequeño Larousse Ilustrado 2013 byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor and Downtown Library AG61 .L3A comprehensive Spanish-language dictionary and encyclopedia in one. Includes photographs, maps, biographical and geographical information.
Finding Print Dictionaries
Language and synonym dictionaries are on both the Main Campus and Downtown Library in the call number range
PC 4580 - PC 4971
Search Library Quick Search Advanced Search by one of these subjects:
- spanish language--dictionaries--english
- spanish language--dictionaries--latin
- catalan language--dictionaries--english
- spanish language--dictionaries
- spanish language--synonyms
- spanish language idioms
- spanish language dictionaries latin
Specialized Spanish Dictionaries
- Diccionario Quechua-Español-Quechua = qheswa-español-qheswa simi taqeCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PM6306 .D53 1995Quecha/Spanish Spanish/Quechua. Academia Mayor de la Lengua Quechua de Qosqo
- Spanish Business Dictionary, English-Spanish, Spanish-English byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor HF1002 .S58
- Oxford Spanish Business DictionaryCall Number: E-bookThe language of business across a range of core areas: finance, management, sales and marketing.
An Introduction to Medical Spanish: Communication and Culture by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2018 5th editionIntroductory Spanish textbook designed specifically for health care professionals.
Catalan
Catalan dictionary : English-Catalan, Catalan-English by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor & Downtown PC3891 .C38Publication Date: 199418,000 entries provide: phonetic transcriptions, accurate translations, examples and expressions to aid comprehension.
