- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Spanish Language: Reading, Writing, Speaking
Spanish Language: Reading, Writing, Speaking
Library guide to resources for learning Spanish
Linguistics Research Guide
Spanish Linguistics Encyclopedias
- Nuevo Tesoro Lexicográfico del Español (NTLLE) (14th Century - 1726)Extensive reference work which compiles entries from historical Spanish dictionaries
Location: JPL 3rd Floor PC4625 .A3 2001
Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2016Part 1 covers linguistic disciplines, approaches and methodologies. Part 2 includes several aspects of the grammar of Spanish, covering its phonological, morphosyntactic and semantic components. Part 3 brings together the historical, social, psychological and applied factors in the evolution and distribution of Spanish.
Evolution of Spanish
- The Evolution of Spanish: An Introductory Historical Grammar byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4101 .L33 2003Evolution of Spanish from Classical and Vulgar Latin to Spanish.
Journal Articles & Databases
- World Atlas of Language Structures Online (WALS) This link opens in a new windowA database of maps and bibliographical references on the structural properties (phonological, grammatical, lexical) of languages. Includes information on location, linguistic affiliation and basic classification features of more than 2,650 languages. A joint project of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology and the Max Planck Digital Library.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes the international literature in linguistics and language sciences. Includes abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Significant linkage to full text. 1920 - current.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical scholarship on literature, criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes thousands of titles including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials, from the late 19th century to the present.
Spanish Linguistics Books
- From Latin to Spanish byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4101 .L518 1987
- Introducción a la Lingüística Española byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4073 .A96 2009
- Spanish Phonology byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PC4131 .C58 2009
General Linguistics
- Encyclopedia of Language and LinguisticsAlso available in print.
Location: JPL 3rd Floor Stacks P29 .E48 (14 volumes)
- A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics byCall Number: Wiley Online Library
- A Dictionary of Language byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor Stacks P29 .C68
- Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor Stacks P143 .T727