- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Anthropology & Archaeology
Anthropology & Archaeology
Library databases and information resources for Anthropology, Archaeology, Ethnography and Primatology
- Getting Started
- Center for Archaeological Research (CAR)
- Articles & Indexes
- Other Databases
- American Indian
- Native American Treaties
- Video & Music
- Grad Student Orientation
UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text peer-reviewed journals published by Wiley including American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals. Links to older content in JSTOR. You can also search directly in AnthroSource for just the AAA journals.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to fifteen peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Also includes the full text of all other AAA journals, newsletters, and bulletins through 2003. Includes some links to older content in JSTOR. An email alert service is available for users who register.
- Anthropological Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles and other materials in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields from more than 900 journals and monographic series published in English and other European languages from the late 19th century to the present. Book reviews are not indexed. Updated quarterly.
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from Science magazine, the noted weekly journal of science research, news, and discussion, as well as Science Now, a daily news briefing for the sciences, both published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Note: Additional features available from this site, such as Science's Knowledge Environments and Science Next Wave, are not part of UTSA's subscription. However, patrons may have limited access to these features.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowRecommendations for scholarship in all formats, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Peer-reviewed bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic.. Subject areas include Anthropology, Sociology, Latin American Studies, and Latino Studies.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to numerous Oxford Handbooks including Oxford Handbook of Archaeology. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles review key issues and major debates, providing an in-depth overview of the field.
- Oxford Very Short Introductions: Arts & Humanities This link opens in a new windowHighly readable, concise introductory e-books on a wide variety of often challenging arts and humanities topics. Covers art, history, literature, philosophy, and more.
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to e-journals and e-books published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS) (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowContains over 4,900 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. Updated monthly.
- International Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative overviews of the concepts, research, and techniques of anthropology from over 800 international scholars on ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language, kinship, and politics as well as biographical entries of many of the world’s most influential founding anthropologists.
- International Encyclopedia of PrimatologyEncyclopedic reference of 450 entries focusing on the behavior, biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, captive management, disease, conservation, taxonomy and representation in literature of human and non-human primates. 2017
- EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexing and summarizes environmental impact statements (EIS) issued by the U.S. government. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.
- Environment Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 900 U.S. and international journals covering the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Also includes conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations, and private corporations. Expanded coverage of energy-related issues is available beginning in 1994.
- GreenFile (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes/abstracts over 600 titles that focus on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Contains scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Includes full text for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
- Colonial Caribbean Module I: Settlement, Slavery, and Empire, 1624-1832 (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowDigital primary sources from the Colonial Office cover British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean over the course of three centuries. Traces the rise and decline of the slave trade, from the regular trade and shipping of enslaved peoples, to the rise of the abolition movement and its impact on the government of the islands. Topics include estate ownership, plantation governance and labor, finance and economy, mutiny and piracy, uprisings and revolts, and more. Covers 1624-1832.
- Center for Archaeological Research ReportsSearchable collection of the Center for Archeological Research's publications from 1975 through the present.
Search Library QuickSearch
Use Library Quick Search to search for books, articles, videos across many databases at once.
Library Quick Search
Search Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from many disciplines. Results come from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles from the Web. Google Scholar provides direct linking to full text content in many UTSA Libraries' subscription databases.
UTSA Department of Anthropology
- Center for Archaeological Research PublicationsFull text searchable collection of the entire set of the Center for Archeological Research's publications from 1975 through the present.
AAA & SAA Style Guides
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowA searchable version of the most recent edition of the Chicago Manual of Style. A Citation Quick Guide provides common examples for formatting citations.
- American Anthropological Association Style GuideAs of September 9, 2015, the AAA Style Guide ceased production. AAA style now adheres to the current edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
- Society for American Archaeology (SAA) Style GuideEditorial Policy, Information for Authors, Style Guide, and Copyright Permission for American Antiquity, Latin American Antiquity, and Advances in Archaeological Practice
- American Antiquity - Easy GuideA condensed version of the SAA citation guide.
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowContains the full MLA Handbook with information about how to fully format and provide citations in the MLA citation style. Currently the ninth edition.
Learn a Language
- Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new windowInteractive language learning software. Includes vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, language and culture blogs, online social communities, and video-based grammar lessons. Basic to intermediate level. More than 100 languages offered, including ESL.
Users MUST first create an account in the web version in order to use this online tool and track learning progress. Access is available on or off campus AFTER creating an account. For mobile apps, use the web version of Transparent Language and click on “Mobile Access” in the menu for the most recent version. To activate the app, scan the QR code found on the "Mobile Access" page or use your username and password.