Microforms Research

Major research and primary documents collections on microfilm and microfiche at the UTSA Libraries.

Native American Records

Native American Records: Various records of the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Five Civilized Tribes

Cherokee:

Cherokee Delaware Census Roll, 1867
E99 .C5 U54
Number of Items: 1
Notes: "7RA-73, RG-75, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs."

Cherokee Equalization Payment Rolls
E99 .C5 C49
Number of Items: 3
Library has: Reel 1 - Reel 2,  Reel 4
Notes: "7RA-82, record group 75."

Cherokee Index and Payrolls, 1912, $15 payment
E99 .C5 C493 (Reel 1)
Number of Items: 1
Notes: "7RA-81, record group 75."

Cherokee Payment Roll, Lipe Roll, 1880
E99 .C5 C496 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)
Notes: "7RA-33, record group 75, records of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes."

Cherokee Payment Roll of 1890
E99 .C5 C4965 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)
Notes: "7RA-59, record group 75, records of the commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes."

Cherokee Payment Roll Old Settlers Roll
E99 .C5 C497

Cherokee Payment Rolls and Index (Starr Roll) 1894
E99 .C5 E35 (Reel 1 – Reel 5)

Drennen Roll of 1852 : Citizens of the Cherokee Nation
Cherokee Annuity Payment Roll (Drennen Roll of 1852)
E99 .C5 U55 (1 roll)

Eastern Cherokee Applications of the U.S. Court of Claims, 1906 – 1909
E99 .C5 E2 (Reel 1 – Reel 348)
roll 1. Roll of Eastern Cherokees. General index to Eastern Cherokee applications (vol. 1 and 2) 
roll 2-348. Applications (40-100 per roll in application number order) 

Index to Cherokee Rejected and Doubtful Dawes Enrollment Cards
E99 .C5 I55
"Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs."
"Records of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes."
"7RA-24."
Partial index to persons listed on Cherokee "Doubtful" and "Rejected" cards. Arranged as part of the Index to enrollment cards, 1899-1907

Records of the Cherokee Indian Agency in Tennessee, 1801-1835
HA645 .N38 no.M208 (Library has: Reel 1 - Reel 14)

Records Relating to Enrollment of Eastern Cherokee by Guion Miller
E99 .C5 R43 (Reel 1 – Reel 12)


Chickasaw:

1904 Chickasaw $40 Townsite Fund Payroll and Index
E99 .C55 U55 (1 roll)
Notes: "7RA-97, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, record group 75."

Chickasaw Equalization Payment Roll, 1910
E99 .C55 C49  (1 roll)
Notes: "7RA-101, record group 75."

Chickasaw Payment Roll, 1908
E99 .C55 C52 (1 roll)
Notes: "7RA-100, record group 75."

Chickasaw Rolls: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Records of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes.
E99 .C55 C54 (Library has Reel 2)
Notes: Record group 75, reel 7RA-21.
Contents: Annuity rolls by counties for 1878 (5 folders) -- Census rolls by counties for 1890 (4 folders) -- Payroll, 1893 (2 folders) -- Census rolls by county for 1896 (6 folders) -- Census roll by county for 1897 (1 vol.) -- List of names (n.d.) (2 folders) -- List of intruders (n.d.) (1 folder) -- List of names (n.d.) (1 folder) -- Index to census rolls 1897 (1 vol.)
Handwritten and typewritten, negative and positive.
Summary: Ledger rolls of the Chickasaw Indians 1878-1897.

Correspondence of the Secretary of the Treasury Relating to the Administration of Trust Funds for the Chickasaw and Other Indian Tribes ("S" Series), 1834-1872
E99 .C55 C67
Notes: General Records of the Department of Treasury. Record Group 56.


Choctaw:

1904 Choctaw Townsite Fund Payroll and Index
E99 .C8 N558 (Reel 1, Reel 3)

1906 Choctaw Payroll and Index
E99 .C8 N56 (Reel 1 – Reel 3)

1908 Choctaw $20 Payment Roll and Index
E99 .C8 N562 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)

1910 Choctaw Equalization Payroll and Index
E99 .C8 U53 (Reel 1)

1911 Choctaw $50 Payment Roll and Index
E99 .C8 U532

1916 Choctaw $300 Payment Roll and Index
E99 .C8 U537

1917 Choctaw $100 Payment Roll and Index
E99 .C8 U538 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)

Index to 1893 Choctaw Payroll: Records of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes
E99 .C8 I54 (one reel)
Notes: Record group 75, reel 7RA-64.
"Typed index to 1893 census. Typed list of orphan children registered at Wheelock Seminary, and Armstrong Orphan Academy during payment of 1893."
Microform. Fort Worth, Tex. : United States. Federal Archives and Records Center, 198-. 

Index to Choctaw "R" Cards (e. 50)
E99 .C8 I53
Notes: "Records of the Five Civilized Tribes Agency." A partial index to persons listed on Choctaw "Doubtful" and "Rejected" cards. Arranged as part of the Index to enrollment cards, 1899-1907.
Other Titles: Records of the Five Civilized Tribes Agency. Index to Enrollment Cards, 1899-1907.

Index to the 1885 Choctaw Census
E99 .C8 U52

Mississippi Choctaw Payroll and Index, 1911
E99 .C8 M57

Mississippi Choctaw Townsite Payroll and Index, 1908
E99 .C8 M575

Records Relating to Identification of Mississippi Choctaws, 1899 – 1904
E99 .C8 U557 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)


Creek:

1832 Census of Creek Indians Taken by Parsons and Abbott
E99 .C9 E36
Title in "Microfilm resources for research," 2000: Census of Creek Indians taken by Parsons and Abbott in 1832

1832 Census of Creek Indians / Taken by Parsons and Abbott.
E99 .C9 P37

Authenticated Tribal Roll of the Creek Nation, 1890
E99 .C9 A2 (one roll)
Notes: "Record group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs." "7RA-41."

Census Roll of the Old Settler Party of Creeks
E99 .C9 C46 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)
Notes: "The rolls were certified by the chiefs of the Creek Nation on December 30, 1857."
Other Titles: Creek Old Settlers Roll; Old Settlers Roll           

Dunn Rolls of 1867 & 1869 Citizens and Freedmen of the Creek Nation Creek Citizens and Freedmen Rolls and Index
E99 .C9 D86
Table of Contents:
v. 1. Dunn roll of 1867 citizens of the Creek Nation     
v. 2. Index to the Dunn roll of 1869 freedmen of the Creek Nation      
v. 3. The Dunn roll of 1869 freedmen of the Creek Nation. 

List of Applicants for Citizenship [United States Bureau of Indian Affairs]. Creek, Applicants and Docket Books
E99 .C9 U558 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)
Names of persons considered by Creek Citizenship Commission in 1895-1896.
List of applicants and docket books of the Creek Citizenship Commission, 1888-96.

List of Applicants to the Commission for Citizenship in the Creek Nation in 1896  / [United States Bureau of Indian Affairs]. Creek, Applicants to the Commission for Citizenship, 1896
E99 .C9 U56
Notes: Record Group 75 "7RA42."
Other Titles: Applicants to the Commission for Citizenship in the Creek Nation in 1896.

Letter Book of the Creek Trading House, 1795-1816
E99 .C9 L48
Series: File microcopies of records in the National Archives ; no. 4 National Archives microfilm publications ; microcopy no. M4.
Notes: Record Group 075.
Records of the Creek Trading House, 1795-1816.


Kiowa:

Kiowa Agency Microform
E99 .K5 O342 (Reel 1 – Reel 115)
Catalogue of microfilm publications / Indian Archives Division, Oklahoma Historical Society. Catalogue of microfilm publications (Oklahoma Historical Society. Indian Archives Division)

Osage:
Records of the Osage Agency : Annuity Rolls, 1878-1909. (21 reels)
E99.O8 R43 no. 7RA-35  (NARA)


Mixed Indian Tribe Records:

1885 Choctaw-Chickasaw Freedmen Rolls
E99 .C8 E35

1896 Census of Choctaw-Chickasaw Freedmen
E99 .C8 E36

Applications for Enrollment and Allotment of Washington Indians, 1911-1919
E78 .W3 A67 (Reel 2)
Series: National Archives microfilm publications ; microcopy no. M1343
Notes: "Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, RG 75"--Catalog.

Applications for Enrollment of the Commission to the Five Civilized
Tribes, 1898 - 1914
E78 .I5 A67 (Reel 1 – Reel 468)
Series: National Archives microfilm publications ; microcopy no. 1301; National Archives microfilm publications ; microcopy no. M1301.
Notes: "Record in the matter of the application for the enrollment as a citizen by intermarriage" of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole nations.
Record Group 75.

Census of the United States (1900). Population. Indian Territory.
Indian Territory, 1900 census soundex

HA351.5 1900 (42 rolls)

Choctaws Paid by Chickasaws : [under] Article 8 [of] Treaty of June 22, 1855
E99 .C8 C49

Enrollment Cards of the Five Civilized Tribes, 1896-1914 / Prepared by the Commission and Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes.
E78 .I5 U27 1980 (Reel 1 – Reel 93)
Series: National Archives microfilm publications ; microcopy M1186
Notes: Indexed by Index to the final rolls of citizens and freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory.
Table of Contents: Reel 1 Index to the final rolls and final rolls 
Reel 2-38 Cherokee (all rolls arranged by blood, newborn by blood, minor by blood, freedmen, freedmen newborn, and freedmen minor; includes Delaware Indians) 
reel 39-66 Choctaw 
reel 67-76 Chickasaw 
reel 77-91 Creek 
reel 92-93 Seminole.
 

Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory  : (as approved by the Secretary of the Interior on or before March 4, 1907, with supplements dated September 25, 1914.
E78 .I5 U57 1961 (Reel 1 – Reel 3)
Table of Contents:
Reel 1. Choctaw and Chickasaw rolls.
Reel 2. Cherokee rolls.
Reel 3. Creek and Seminole rolls. 

Index of Indian War Pension Files, 1892 – 1926
E81 .U55 1959 (Reel 1 – Reel 12)
Other Titles: Title on film container: Index of Indian War pension files
Title in "Microfilm resources for research," 2000: Index of Indian War pension files, 1892-1926

Index to Choctaw and Chickasaw Allotment Ledgers
E99 .C8 I52 (Reel 1 – Reel 2)

Indian Census Rolls, 1885 – 1940
E98 .C3 I5 1965 (Reel 1 – Reel 692) National Archives description
Series: National Archives Microfilm Publications ; microcopy no. M595
Notes: Listed in "Microfilm resources for research," 1986 as: M595.
Census rolls that were usually submitted each year by agents or superintendents in charge of Indian reservations, to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs.

Letter Book of the Arkansas Trading House, 1805 – 1810
E98 .A8 U55 1948
Series: National Archives microfilm publications ; microcopy no. M142
Notes: Microfilm of records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75.
"Reproduction of one volume of handwritten copies of letters sent and received by the agent of the Arkansas Trading House for the entire period of operations from 1805 to 1810"--Intro.
For further content information, see "Introduction" at the beginning of reel 1.

Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-81
E93 .U54 (Reel 31; Reels 55-70; Reels 197-214; Reels 374-386; Reels 546–582;
Reel 727; Reels 740–744; Reels 747–756; Reels 833–839; Reels 858-861;
Reels 878-879; Reel 889; Reels 921-924; Reels 928-930)
Finding Aid:  Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs
Location:  JPL 3rd Floor Stacks, E93 .U54 Guide

Letters Received by the Office of the Secretary of War Relating to Indian affairs, 1800-1823 : microcopy no.271
E93 .U55 (Reel 1 – Reel 4)

Lists of Delaware, Shawnee, and North Carolina Cherokees, 1867-1881
E99 .D2 U55
Notes: "7RA-74, RG-75, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs."

Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs:  Central Classified Files, 1907 - 1939
E93 .R43 (Series C, pt. 2 (Reel 1 – Reel 12))
Finding Aid:  Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs
Location:  JPL 3rd Floor Stacks, E93 .R43 Guide

Records of the Central Superintendency of Indian affairs, 1813-1878
E93 .U56 (Reel 1 – Reel 108)
Finding Aid:  Records of Central Superintendency of Indian Affairs
Location:  JPL 3rd Floor Stacks, Room Use Only, E93 .U56 Guide

Records of the Choctaw-Chickasaw Citizenship Court
E99 .C8 U55 (Reel 1)
Notes: "7RA-27, record group 75, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, records of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes."
Title on reel 2: Records of the Choctaw and Chickasaw nations citizenship dockets.
Other Titles: Records of the Choctaw and Chickasaw nations citizenship dockets.

Records Relating to Intruders
Other Titles: Records of the Five Civilized Tribes Agency.
E78 .I5 R43 (Reel 1, Reel 2, Reel 5, Reel 8)

Rolls of the Delaware tribe and Shawnee tribe: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Records of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes.
E99 .D2 R65 1980
Notes: Record group 75, reel 7RA-26. Handwritten and typewritten, positive.
Summary: Ledger census and payrolls for the Delaware and Shawnee tribes for 1896 and 1904.
Table of Contents: Payroll (1896) Delaware, Cherokee 
Payroll per capita, Delaware, 1904 
Shawnee-Cherokee census, 1896 
Payroll, Delaware, 1896 
Payroll, Delaware, 1904 
Shawnee census, 1896. 

Records of the New Mexico Superintendency of Indian Affairs, 1849-80
E93 .U574 (Reel 1 – Reel 30)

Schedules of a Special Census of Indians, 1880
E98 .C3 S34 1994 (Reel 1 – Reel 5)