- Find Information
- Research Guides
This guide includes library databases and other resources for entrepreneurs.
Head of Research Engagement and Scholarly Communication
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249-0671
San Antonio, TX 78249-0671
Advanced Google Search
by Natasha Arguello Last Updated Mar 24, 2023 3211 views this year
by Natasha Arguello Last Updated May 17, 2023 3138 views this year
by Natasha Arguello Last Updated May 18, 2023 296 views this year
by Natasha Arguello Last Updated May 18, 2023 1103 views this year
by Natasha Arguello Last Updated Aug 3, 2022 44 views this year
Key Databases for Entrepreneurs
- AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a directory of U.S. business, household, and healthcare information.
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Includes startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share; failure rates; entrepreneurial activity rates; startup profit & loss detail and ratios; and detailed small business balance sheets, P & L, and ratios.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowContains detailed industry market reports for the U.S., based on the NAICS classification. Reports include industry performance, lifecycle, products and markets, supply chain, operating conditions, regulation and policy, key competitors, barriers to entry, outlook, and more. Specialized Industry Reports address more narrowly defined product/service segments or emerging industries.
- Market Research Academic This link opens in a new windowAggregates market research reports from several publishers.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowContains over 1,000 in-depth market research reports by Mintel analysts focusing on consumer goods, travel, health and well-being, technology, retail, and food and drink in the U.S., U.K., and western Europe. Includes market segmentation, size and trends, brand share analysis, supply structure, advertising, retail distribution, consumer lifestyles and attitudes, and more.
- RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new windowProvides performance metrics derived from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. The Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB) provides industry norms including liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios. The Industry Default Probability Data (IDP) uses cash flow measures to project the expected default frequency estimates (EDF) by industry. Data for 760+ industries based on NAICS codes may be examined on a national or regional level. Five year archive
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area.
- Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics such as writing a business plan, understanding legal information, marketing a business, buying/selling a business, managing employees, managing non-profits, and more. Includes industry information with state-specific demographic and business data. Provides access to 400 full-text periodicals, over 450 full-text reference books, hundreds of business videos, a start- up kit and business plans. The book collection includes a series of NOLO legal guides relevant to small business and entrepreneurs.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.
Government Assistance for Entrepreneurs & Small Business
- Small BusinessLearn the steps to start a small business, get financing help from the government, and more.
- Small Business Administration (SBA)Small business planner.
- SCORE Counselors to America's Small BusinessA nonprofit association dedicated to educating entrepreneurs. A resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).
- State of Texas Business PortalTo explore topics on starting a business in Texas, go to Business in the header.
- Business in TexasResources for small businesses in the State of Texas.
- SBDCNet National Information Clearing HouseIndustry information provided by researchers from SBDCNet in San Antonio.
- Best IndustriesA 2015 list of best industries for startups by Inc. magazine.
- Small Business LabsAccess small business reports and resources, choose blogs to follow. Annual lists of Small Business Trends.
- Startup Failure Post-mortems (CB Insight)Insights from founders and investors on why their startup failed.