Paralegal 1 and 2 Classes

Databases, Webinars and Resources for Paralegal Students

Nexis Uni Overview

Legal section of Nexis Uni contains:

State and Federal (Supreme Court, U.S. Appellate, U.S. District) case law decisions (no state trial courts, no jury trials); State and Federal Codes, Regulations and Constitutions; law reviews; Shepardizing for all cases; as well as extensive U.S. and int'l news and business sources. Check All Sources Directory for complete list of available sources and date ranges. Updated daily.

Legal Reference Sources available in Nexis Uni
> Ballentine's Law Dictionary (3rd edition)
> Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary
> American Jurisprudence (2nd ed.)
> Attorney’s Dictionary of Patent Claims
> Attorney’s Dictionary of Medicine
> Dictionary of Occupational Titles
> Intellectual Property Law Dictionary
> The Law Dictionary (7th edition)

Creating a Permalink to an Article or Case in Nexis Uni: 
     Go to Actions > Link to This Page > Copy the Permalink

Key Legal Resources

Nexis Uni Online Tutorials

Selected tutorials available (lengths vary from 5 minutes to one hour)

  • Overview of NexisUni
  • Why Use NexisUni?: An Overview of Key Content & Feature
  • Using Citation Management Tools in NexisUni
  • Searching Law Reviews and Journals by Title
  • Searching Statutes by Citation
  • Segment/Field Searching
  • Hidden Gems on Nexis Uni...Environmental Social and Governance (ESG) Resource
  • Hidden Gems on Nexis Uni...Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports & Primary Sources in U.S. Presidential
  • Searching Secondary Resources
  • Hidden Gems on Nexis Uni - Zacks Equity Research & Reuters Knowledge Direct-
  • The ABCs of Conducting Legal Research
  • Searching SEC Filings
  • 280 Million Profiles: Up Close and Personal with Dossier
  • I Am Just A Bill…Did I Make It Off My State’s Capitol Hill?
  • Using the Advanced Search Form
  • Searching by Length of the Article
  • Searching Transcripts by Show
  • Searching News by Journalist
  • Searching News by Foreign Language

Citing

>>> Citation Management Tools on Nexis Uni (4 minutes) (Session Recorded October 12, 2022)

List updated: 11/23/2022

Nexis Uni YouTube Tutorials (LexisNexis)