- Find Information
- Research Guides
- OER for COLFA
OER for COLFA
Open Educational Resources for UTSA's College of Liberal and Fine Arts
Librarian
AHC 1113, 1123, 1133, 3113
-
Survey of Art & Architecture:Prehistoric Times-1350
-
Survey of Art & Architecture in Europe & the New World: 1350-1750
-
Survey of Modern Art
-
Contemporary Art
Art History I by History of Art Survey course covering from prehistoric art to the Italian Renaissance. Cover image Lascaux Cave_France
The Creative Spirit: 1550-Present by An exploration of the creative spirit as manifest in the arts and humanities. This textbook examines historical shifts and artistic output in eastern and western culture beginning with the Protestant Reformation and ending in the 21st century.
Guide to Ancient Roman Art by Highlights and provides background on Ancient Roman Works.
Guide to the Art of AP Art History Volume 1Highlights and provides background on significant and influential works of art.
Guide to the Art of AP Art History Volume 2Highlights and provides background on significant and influential works of art.
Guide to the Art of AP Art History Volume 3Highlights and provides background on significant and influential works of art.
Guide to Byzantine Art by Authors: Dr. William Allen; Dr. Magdalene Breidenthal; Dr. Andrew Casper; Dr. Paroma Chatterjee; Dr. Allen Farber; Dr. Ariel Fein; Dr. Evan Freeman; Dr. Beth Harris; Kalliroe Linardou; Dr. Elizabeth Macaulay; Kathleen Maxwell; Dr. Anne McClanan; Dr. Robert G. Ousterhout; Dr. Nancy Ross; Dr. Courtney Tomaselli; Dr. Nicolette S. Trahoulia; Dr. Alicia Walker; and Dr. Steven Zucker
Modernism and the Spiritual in Russian Art: New Perspectives by Publication Date: 2017"This diverse collection of essays introduces new and stimulating approaches to the ongoing debate as to how Russian artistic modernism engaged with questions of spirituality in the late nineteenth to mid-twentieth centuries. Ten chapters from emerging and established voices offer new perspectives on Kandinsky and other familiar names, such as Kazimir Malevich, Mikhail Larionov, and Natalia Goncharova, and introduce less well-known figures, such as the Georgian artists Ucha Japaridze and Lado Gudiashvili, and the craftswoman and art promoter Aleksandra Pogosskaia.."- Reframing Art HistoryReframing Art History, an open-access multimedia art history "textbook," gives you a guided journey through the living, breathing, meaningful side of art history. We’re less concerned with names and dates than with meaning and movement. With chapters developed by a group of more than 40 experts, it showcases art and history from the bottom up.
Survey of Western Art History I by Open lab manual workbook for students in Survey of Western Art History I at University of Nebraska Omaha. This project was funded by the Affordable Content Grants program at UNO Libraries.
- Smarthistory"Smarthistory is the leading open educational resource for art history. We make high-quality introductory art history content freely available to anyone, anywhere. Smarthistory is a platform for the discipline where art historians contribute in their areas of expertise and learners come from across the globe. We offer nearly 500 videos and these are being translated into dozens of languages."
- Student's Guide to Italian Renaissance ArchitectureFree interactive online e-book discusses major renaissance buildings by both architect and type, including background on ancient and medieval buildings. Highly illustrated. User must agree to license for full access.
- Art Appreciation Course Lumen LearningArt Appreciation course from Lumen Learning. Instructor resources available with login. Course is CC-BY but cannot be auto-imported into Canvas.
Art History @ SaylorA series of courses on art history developed by professors for Saylor.org.- MIT Open Courseware Music & Theater ArtsMIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Course format generally includes lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
- Art Institute of Chicago Digital PublicationsFree digital publications including exhibition catalogues that can be read online. Interactive e-pubs.
- Canadian Online Art Book ProjectA digital library of books about Canadian artists. Read online or download. Links to other resources.
- Getty Publications Virtual LibraryMore than 300 Getty publications available online for free download.
- MetPublicationsMore than 500 books published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art freely available in full text online.
- MoMA Exhibition HistoryDigitized documentation from exhibitions held at MoMA from 1929 to present. Includes photographs, press releases, checklists, and in some instances publications such as the exhibition catalogue.
- National Gallery of Art Washington Free Backlist TitlesBrowse or download free digitized exhibition catalogues in PDF from the National Gallery of Art publication archives.
- Toledo Museum of Art PublicationsA collaboration between the Toledo Museum of Art and the Internet Archive makes these exhibition catalogues freely available online.
- Wildenstein Institute PublicationsDigitized catalogues raisonnés on a wide range of French artists, with a strong focus on 18th and 19th-century art. Some in English, some in French.
- ArtxHistoryArtxHistory is an education resource of commonly available images, videos, mini-lectures and scholarship of the decades which influenced or defined the mid-century through contemporary art. Most links are concise in content, of prevalent works of art in the early or mature stage of an artist's career, sourced from museum, academic, journalistic and for profit institutions. ArtxHistory is offered as an alternative to a textbook, relieving users of cost, as quality content online develops. The core intent of ArtxHistory is to offer an art history that replaces the dominant white, male, heteronormative, advantaged, celebrity narratives for a more inclusive history balanced with the work of women, artists of color, LGBTQIA+ persons, intersectional makers, and the self-taught. Reflected by the diaspora, America, and particularly New York based practices, are an overriding locus of investigation. While pointing toward a decolonized art history, ArtxHistory is not comprehensive nor free of biases. Artists and scholars are welcome to use and facilitate in the development of ArtxHistory for a more open, equitable, engaged classroom.
- Khan Academy Art HistoryKhan Academy offers a variety of short videos on art history topics. (Scroll down to the Browse Our Library heading to find the links.)
- Open Arts ArchiveAn open access platform which provides over 50 free films to support the teaching of Art History.
- Art History Teaching Resources - AHTRAn online repository that includes lesson plans, OER activities, resources on the scholarship of teaching and learning, and more.
- Courtauld Books OnlineA series of online scholarly books published by The Courtauld Institute of Art. Browse online or download individual chapters or the entire book in PDF.
- Guggenheim & Whitney Art Resources from the mid-20th CenturyDigitized Highlights from the Collections of Hilla Rebay and Juliana Force - A Collaborative Project Between the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and the Whitney Museum of American Art. More than 600 rare digitized texts viewable in PDF format. Locate items by browsing alphabetical list.
- Guggenheim Museum Publications OnlineFree digital editions of books and catalogues that document the exhibitions and collections of the Guggenheim Museum.
- OER CommonsSearch for "Art" or "Art history" to find over 1000 resources. Refine by type, level, subject area, and more.
- Whitney Museum of American Art PublicationsA collaboration between the Whitney and the Internet Archive makes these publications freely available online.
ART 1003, 1013, 1023, 1103, 1213, 1223
-
Two Dimensional Foundations
-
Three Dimensional Foundations
-
Digital Arts Foundations
-
Introduction to Visual Arts
-
Drawing I & II
Foundation Drawing for Art 1100 by Foundation Drawing for Art 1100 serves as the primary text for the course of the same name at the UNO School of the Arts.
Introduction to Art: Design, Context & Meaning by Publication Date: 2016Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses.
Combining the best elements of both a traditional textbook and a reader, it introduces such issues in art as its meaning and purpose; its meaning and purpose; its structure, material, and form; and its diverse effects on our lives. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding the students’ educational experiences beyond the textbook. Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning provides a new and free alternative to traditional textbooks, making it an invaluable resource in our modern age of technology and advancement.
