Online Resources for Music

Key Online Resources

Oxford Music Online: Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive music reference resource and logical starting place for biographies, definitions, or information on classical music, opera, popular music, jazz, folk, and world music from many cultures and countries. Most articles offer bibliographies, and articles on composers provide detailed lists of works. Provides access to Grove Music Online, which includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera; New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.5 million audio tracks on 155,000 discs from over 940 recording labels. Classical music is the primary genre, but also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, and traditional music. Includes more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, as well as libretti and synopses of over 1,000 operas.

If you're interested in using the Naxos Mobile App, please contact William Glenn.
Music and Performing Arts Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches thirteen music and performing arts collections from Alexander Street, including thousands of classical music scores, streaming music tracks in a variety of genres, and major music encyclopedias and dictionaries.

The following databases are included:
Music Index Online (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 800 U.S. and international periodicals in music and related fields, as well as book reviews; obituaries; and news about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes music and performance reviews.
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Cites materials covering all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. For 19th and early 20th century coverage, see RIPM.