Comprehensive music reference resource and logical starting place for biographies, definitions, or information on classical music, opera, popular music, jazz, folk, and world music from many cultures and countries. Most articles offer bibliographies, and articles on composers provide detailed lists of works. Provides access to Grove Music Online, which includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera; New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Contains nearly 2.5 million audio tracks on 155,000 discs from over 940 recording labels. Classical music is the primary genre, but also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, and traditional music. Includes more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, as well as libretti and synopses of over 1,000 operas.
Cross-searches thirteen music and performing arts collections from Alexander Street, including thousands of classical music scores, streaming music tracks in a variety of genres, and major music encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Provides access to over 24,000 of the most important classical music scores for compositions from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions of pieces. Many of the scores have linked streaming music tracks in Classical Music Library. This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Indexes over 800 U.S. and international periodicals in music and related fields, as well as book reviews; obituaries; and news about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes music and performance reviews.