Online Resources for Music

Streaming Audio & Video

Streaming audio
Streaming video

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.5 million audio tracks on 155,000 discs from over 940 recording labels. Classical music is the primary genre, but also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, and traditional music. Includes more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, as well as libretti and synopses of over 1,000 operas.

If you're interested in using the Naxos Mobile App, please contact William Glenn.
Music Online: Classical Music Library (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 60,000 classical music tracks that span styles from Medieval to contemporary times, including symphonic music, vocal and instrumental music, chamber groups, and other forms. Many recordings are distinguished performances from major recording labels. Program notes, composer biographies, recommended playlists, and images are included as supplementary reference information.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Described as the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz music available online. Users can stream music online from thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Includes works licensed from major record labels.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Music Online: American Music (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 35,000 tracks of historical American songs written by and about American Indians, African Americans, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Includes songs about the Civil Rights Movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and others.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Music Online: Popular Music Library (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Popular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 50,000 contemporary and traditional world music recordings in genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Described as a "virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions," this database contains over 40,000 tracks of traditional music and spoken sound from around the world. Notes, images, videos, educational features, and lesson plans accompany the music.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Music and Performing Arts Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches thirteen music and performing arts collections from Alexander Street, including thousands of classical music scores, streaming music tracks in a variety of genres, and major music encyclopedias and dictionaries.

The following databases are included:

Music Online: Classical Music in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
A video collection of approximately 1,500 performances of orchestral, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances. Also includes videos of masterclasses and interviews with master teachers worldwide. Features performances of Renaissance, Baroque, Romantic, Late-Romantic, 20th and 21st century music. Recordings 1950 to present. Updated regularly.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
Academic Video Online Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary streaming video collection in subjects as diverse as art & architecture, history, ethnography, theater, dance, music, criminal justice, education, counseling and therapy, science, business, political science and more. Includes the ability to save playlists and to create video clips for presentations.

Open Access Video Resources

New York Philharmonic
“The New York Philharmonic Watch and Listen has recorded concerts but also artist Interviews and Behind-the-Scenes features.”
The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
“The Netherlands' Royal Concertgebouw orchestra recently opened their own Watch & Listen site with a large selection of concerts recorded at the famed concert hall. Music director Daniele Gatti is featured as well as other stars like Herbert Blomstedt and Ivan Fischer.”

“The conducting masterclass is invaluable to the conductors participating [and] to the young musicians attending as listeners. During the 2019/2020 season, the classes were given by Iván Fischer, one of the Concertgebouworkest’s most popular guest conductors. Each of the four participants conducted the orchestra each day. Fischer gave each participant specific feedback about what he or she needs in order to grow and develop further as a conductor. This could include musical ideas, conducting technique, rehearsal technique, listening, communication, and leadership. The participants also received feedback from members of the orchestra.”
Gothenburg Symphony
“The Swedish symphony orchestra streams almost all concerts live for free—seven or eight events monthly. A rich archive is available and particularly interesting are videos of encores by solo stars. You can watch GSOplay at gsoplay.com or via the GSOplay app. Right now we have chosen to open up the app’s Premium content to all users.”
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra
“Free online concert streaming from the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. The recorded concert will be edited and made available to the public shortly after the concert.”
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
You must sign up for a free account. In the past, they offered free live concert streaming, but a donation was required to access their archive. For the time being, they say, "Hundreds of on-demand works available any time, night or day. Now free, no donation required!"