Online Resources for Music

Indexes over 800 U.S. and international periodicals in music and related fields, as well as book reviews; obituaries; and news about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes music and performance reviews.

Cites materials covering all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. For 19th and early 20th century coverage, see RIPM.

Originally published as the Repertoire International de la Presse Musicale, RIPM is an international bibliography of journals in music published during the 19th and early 20th century. Includes primary source materials that focus on musical culture and history. For later 20th and 21st century coverage, see RILM.

Provides full text/image access to 88 international, music-related journals, including both scholarly and popular titles. Indexes and abstracts an additional 300+ journals. Coverage is provided for various types of music: classical, popular, jazz, folk music, and others. Comprehensive treatment is provided for various music disciplines, such as musicology, theory, music education, ethnomusicology, and performance. Emphasis is on English-language material, but nearly twenty percent of citations are for non-English-language articles. The most thorough indexing (with abstracts) is for the period since 1996; less thorough indexing (without abstracts) extends back as far as 1874.

Covers 1950s to the present. Includes thousands of articles, reviews, and streaming audio interviews about rock history and rock musicians from standard music industry writers and publications.

Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.

Searchable full-text and full-image versions of scholarly journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, math, and science.