- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Education
Guide to assist professors and students focusing on early education in the Department of Interdisciplinary Learning & Teaching.
Govt. Documents Librarian
Education Librarian
ECE - Recommended databases
- Library Quick SearchSearches a lot (but not all) of our databases
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA highly specialized collection for professional educators, professional librarians, and education researchers, with information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. Includes articles from academic journals, magazines, U.S. Department of Education Reports, and more.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily
Areas for ECE class research paper:
Topics: families, health, special needs, poverty, diversity, gender, technology/social media, issues of equity, language, cognitive development, social-emotional development, and nutrition.
Once you decide on your question you will write a 6-page paper using peer-reviewed articles from academic journals. You need to include at least 5 articles published within the past 10 years.
** Note: This is not an opinion piece. This paper should be supported using empirical and theoretical evidence.
Key Resources
Databases
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new windowChildren's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the premier academic research and teaching tool for courses needing quality information for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over 2.6 million fiction/non-fiction records with 650,000+ national and international awards (including Newbery, Jane Addams Book Award, Caldecott) plus 540,000+ quality, professional reviews. It includes over 330,000 author/title links plus lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers 45 search-limiters to easily find appropriate materials such as: determining interest & reading levels; select trade books based on standards; create thematic, annotated biographies; interpret reviews; develop STEM book collections and more. Students can set up their own My CLCD account to save their search assignments. Student access is FREE for one year after graduation.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included.
CLCD Quick Start Guide
- Quick Start GuideThis is a handy guide on how to search within the Children's Literature Comprehensive Database to download and use.