Early Childhood Education

ATE is a "center for school districts, community colleges, the private sector and UTSA to collaboratively research, design, implement and evaluate educational programs that address emerging, statewide and local educational issues associated with a growing diverse student population."

"UTSA’s Reading Place offers assistance in reading and writing to San Antonio area children. In addition, the UTSA Reading Place provides training for university students through teaching experiences and conducts research on problems in literacy learning."

"UTSA’s Teacher Education: Autism Model (TEAM) Center functions as a “teaching hospital” for training teachers to use scientifically validated procedures for teaching students with Autism Spectrum Disorders and other intellectual disabilities."

"This collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students and their parents and teachers. It features free video lessons/tutorials; free mobile apps; free audiobooks, ebooks and textbooks; quality YouTube channels; free foreign language lessons; test prep materials; and free web resources in academic subjects like literature, history, science and computing."

"This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics."

The U.S. Census's site helps "teachers and students learn and apply statistics because we are the primary source of economic and demographic data for the U.S. and employ thousands of statistical experts."

"Child Care & Early Education Research Connections, launched in 2004, promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making."

The Children's Literature Center is a part of the U.S. Library of Congress and contains many digitized and rare books.

The Children's Picture Book Database "gives teachers, librarians, parents, and students a place for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects."

"Curriki is an online environment created to support the development and free distribution of world-class educational materials to anyone who needs them. Our name is a play on the combination of 'curriculum' and 'wiki' which is the technology we're using to make education universally accessible."

"Information, products, tools and ideas for early childhood educators, directors, administrators, teachers, and parents."

This webpage is maintained by All Education Schools, which "is a comprehensive online directory of accredited teacher education programs and teaching career resources."

"The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching."

This website is sponsored by the United States' NASA program. Lesson plans and ideas for K-12 students regarding science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, are freely available here.

This National Geographic website offers a variety of geography-based web resources for K-12 students.

Great resources stemming from PBS programming.

The DoSeum has a variety of great opportunities and activities for both you and your students.

The Sesame Workshop, which operates as part of the nationally-recognized Sesame Street program, works to promote early childhood education across the globe.

Teaching Channel is a video showcase—on the Internet and TV—of inspiring and effective teaching practices in America's schools.

"ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access."