Women's Studies

A vast collection of primary sources, as well as document projects, that examine interpretive questions concerning U.S. women's history in social movements from colonial times through the twentieth century. Provides access to documents, images, books, chronologies, biographies, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies. New primary documents and document projects are added annually.

Chronicles various aspects of women's lives in North America from Colonial times through 1950. As the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence in existence, it includes 150,000 pages of published and previously unpublished letters and diaries by 1,325 women authors. Limited biographical information is included.

A large collection of full-text / full-image African American newspapers from all around the country. Covers the 19th and 20th centuries.

A collection of 19th and early 20th century digitized newspapers from Latin America. Includes titles published in English, Spanish, and Portuguese from more than 20 countries in the region, from Argentina to Venezuela. Coverage: 1805-1922.

Consists of an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writers from 19 countries, including Mexico and countries in both Central and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries, which address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region. Currently features 36 plays and over 28,000 pages of prose. When completed, the collection will contain 300 plays and 100,000 pages of poetry and prose.

An extensive collection of mostly primary sources from the 1700s to the mid-20th century that trace the evolution of women's rights in the United States, Britain, Canada, continental Europe, and New Zealand, among other geographic areas. Topics include the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, the education of girls and women, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, women's voluntary associations, political and social reform, biography and autobiography, women writers, and more. Includes books and historical journals, with most materials in English, and others representing 14 additional languages.

Digital collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.