Women's Studies

The goal of Handbook of International Perspectives on Feminism is to present the histories, status, and contours of feminist research and practice in their respective regional and/or national contexts. The editors have invited researchers who are doing this work to present their perspectives on women, culture, and rights with the objective to illuminate the diverse forms that feminist psychological work takes around the world, and connect these forms with the unique positions and concerns of women in these regions. What does "feminist psychology" look like in Japan? In South Africa? In Sri Lanka? In Canada? In Brazil? How did it come to look this way? How do psychologists in these countries or regions, each with unique political, economic, and cultural histories, engage in feminist work in the societies in which they live? How do they employ the tools of "psychology" - broadly defined - to do this work, and what tensions and challenges have they faced?

Gender and women′s studies is one of the most challenging fields within the social sciences - the dynamics of gender relations and the social and cultural implications of gender constructions offer a lively forum of debate. The Handbook of Gender and Women′s Studiespresents a comprehensive and engaging review of the most recent developments within the field, including the study of masculinity, the feminist implications of postmodernism, the ′cultural turn′ and globalization. The authors review current research and offer critical analyses of women′s and gender studies in work, the welfare state, family, education, religion, violence and war and feminist global politics. Edited by three leading academics from Europe and the United States, and with 25 chapters written by scholars based throughout the world, the Handbooksituates the most important debates in the field within a uniquely international and interdisciplinary context. The Handbookis a useful introduction to gender theory and an exciting starting-point for fresh debates.

Tierney's highly acclaimed Women's Studies Encyclopedia has become the standard in the field, but research on women has proceeded rapidly since its publication. Feminist thought has grown and branched out, and women's conditions have changed markedly in some areas. This revised and expanded edition will meet the continuing need for a multidisciplinary reference tool on all facets of the female condition. With close to 400 contributors, it expands coverage of such areas as violence against women, women in public life, and women in specific countries and regions. Many of the articles are new or completely rewritten, while others have been updated or expanded. The encyclopedia contains information about women from all fields and disciplines of study, written in non-specialist language accessible to all readers. It will continue to be a useful resource for students and scholars doing research outside their fields, and the interested layperson.