UTSA Databases
- Black Male Education Research Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Black Male Education Research Collection provides a comprehensive collection of scholarly articles for academics, mentors, and anyone in search of literature on this topic. The focus extends from kindergarten through higher education and includes everything from mentoring, psychological health, and sports/athletics. This collection of research is composed primarily of peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Education: A Sage Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to 36 journals published by Sage on topics in education such as curriculum and theory, research methods, diversity, counseling, budgeting, law, standards, and technology. Covers early childhood through adult and continuing education, including special and gifted education.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included.
History of African American Education in Texas
The American Dream Through the Eyes of Black African Immigrants in Texas by Call Number: F395 .N4 M66 2013
African Americans in South Texas History by Call Number: E185.93.T4 A39 2011Also available as e-book.
Before Brown by Call Number: LC212.722 .T4 L38 2010
Reforming Jim Crow by Call Number: E185.61 .J694 2010
Early Texas Schools by Call Number: LA370 .B53 2008
The Brackenridge Colored School by Call Number: LC2802 .T4 W55 2006- Integrating the 40 Acres: The Fifty-year Struggle for Racial Equality at the University of Texas byCall Number: LC214.22.T48 G65 2006
- Advancing Democracy: African Americans and the Struggle for Access and Equity in Higher Education in Texas byCall Number: LC214.22 .T48 S53 2004
Private Black Colleges in Texas, 1865-1954 by Call Number: LC2802 .T4 H45 1985Also available as e-book.
Biographies of Teachers & Administrators
To Tell the Truth Freely by Call Number: E185.97 .W55 B39 2009
The Racial Politics of Booker T. Washington by Call Number: GN495.4 .R47 v.13
Mary Mcleod Bethune by Call Number: E185.97 .B34 A25 2001
