UTSA Libraries Special Collections
Find biographical information about local citizens through the UTSA Libraries Special Collections.
UTSA Databases
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowContains the "African American National Biography."
- Biography Index Past and Present (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures citations to autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, book reviews, interviews, and other biographical materials in English-language books and journals.
- Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in a wide-range of disciplines for background information. Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Selected Biography Resources
African American National Biography by Call Number: E185.96 .A4466 2008 JPL 3rd Floor Graduate Study RoomAlso available as e-book.
Black American Military Leaders: a Biographical Dictionary by Call Number: E181 .H382 2007
Icons of African American Protest: Trailblazing Activists of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: E185.96 .K56 2009Profiles 24 African Americans prominent in the history of civil rights in the United States.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Encyclopedia by Call Number: E185.97.K5 M334 2008
Who's Who among African Americans by Biographical and career details on notable African Americans, including leaders from sports, the arts, business, religion and other fields.
E-book
Research Collections
- FBI Records: The VaultSome of the material below may also be included in the digitized FBI case files released through the Freedom of Information Act. Note: the microfilm collection may be more complete.
- FBI File on Adam Clayton Powell, Jr.Call Number: E748 .P86 F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm (8 reels)
- FBI File on the Black Panther Party North CarolinaCall Number: E185.615 .F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm (2 reels)
- FBI File on Malcolm XCall Number: E185.97 .L5 F3JPL 4th Floor microfilm (10 reels)
- FBI File on NAACPCall Number: E185.5 .N276 F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm (4 reels)
- FBI File on National Negro ConferenceCall Number: E185.61 .F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm (2 reels)
- FBI File on African-American UnityCall Number: E185.5 .O742 F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm
- FBI File on Elijah MuhammadCall Number: BP223 .Z8 E454JPL 4th Floor microfilm (3 reels)
- FBI File on Paul RobesonCall Number: E185.97 .R63 F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm
- FBI File on the Rev. Jesse JacksonCall Number: E185.97 .J25 F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm
- FBI File on Thurgood MarshallCall Number: KF8745 .M34 F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm
- FBI File on W.E.B. DuBois, 1942-1963Call Number: E185.97 .D73 F35JPL 4th Floor microfilm
- Martin Luther King, Jr. Assassination FileCall Number: E185.97 .K5 M379JPL 4th Floor microfilm (25 reels)