Featured Resource
- The Green Book - NYPL Digital CollectionsDigital full image of the contents of a guide for travelers. Published from 1936-1967, the New York Public Library Digital Collections covers 1937-1949.
#BlackLivesMatter
- #BlackLivesMatter: Critical Perspectives (Documenting a 2016 UTSA course offering)A digital archive of course content by spring 2016 seminar students at the University of Texas at San Antonio. The course was designed to critically examine the sociocultural and historical contexts of the #BlackLivesMatter and #CharlestonSyllabus movements. Includes background information on the movement, the course syllabus, learning modules, student projects, and more.
UTSA Databases & Other Online Resources
- NAACP Papers (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1909-1972. Digitized primary source material from the NAACP. Content is organized into six modules documenting the NAACP's work on behalf of civil rights, including the fight for voting rights and campaigns against segregated education, discrimination and segregation in public places, residential discrimination, discrimination in the workplace and the armed forces, and the campaign against lynching, among others. Also included are the NAACP’s national organizational records and Legal Department files. Use Advanced Search for keyword searching or use the timeline to find records of significant events.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new windowDigitized primary source material concerning the African American civil rights struggle in two modules: Federal Government Records and Organizational Records and Personal Papers. Topics include African Americans in the military, Black workers in the era of the Great Migration, civil rights under different presidential administrations, FBI files on various African American individuals and organizations, the Tuskegee Airmen records, Mary McLeod Bethune papers, Claude A. Barnett papers, records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and more.
- Hein Online: Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new windowContaining publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
- African American Historical Serials Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of primary sources related to African American life and culture features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. It comprises newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
- African American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowA large collection of full-text / full-image African American newspapers from all around the country. Covers the 19th and 20th centuries.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.
- African American OdysseyPrimary source documents from the Library of Congress. Topics include slavery, free Blacks in the Antebellum period, abolition, the Civil War, Booker T. Washington, World War I, the Great Depression, the New Deal, World War II, and the Civil Rights era.
- The Black PastA large collection of resources dedicated to African American history. Includes transcripts of selected primary documents.
- Topic: African Americans - The Pew Research CenterA collection of data about African Americans from the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
- Black History and Culture (Google Arts & Culture)Explores the history, arts and culture of Black experience in the United States. Includes, photos, documents, video, audio, artwork, music, and more.
- Colorism in High FashionA look at representations of race in 19 years of Vogue magazine covers (from 2000 to 2018) by a data scientist.
- Ebony Magazine on Google BooksA searchable archive of back issues of Ebony Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1950s - 2000s.
- Jet Magazine on Google BooksA searchable archive of back issues of Jet Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1950s - 2000s.
- Descendants: An Original Series from the Washington PostVideos examine the lasting influence of slavery on American Life. Episodes include: What Juneteenth Tells Us About the Value of Black Life in America; How a Propaganda Campaign to Minimize Slavery's Role in the Civil War Became American History; The Slave Ship That Wasn't Meant to be Found; and more.
Selected Resources on the Colonial Era
Click title to check availability.
Black Americans in the Revolutionary Era: A Brief History with Documents by Call Number: E269.N3 H65 2009
From Africa to America: African American History from the Colonial Era to the Early Republic, 1526-1790 by Call Number: E185 .P49 1996
Selected Resources on Slavery
Click title to check availability.
I Was Born in Slavery: Personal Accounts of Slavery in Texas by Call Number: E445.T47 I23 2003
John Washington's Civil War: A Slave Narrative by Call Number: E450.W325 A3 2008JPL 3rd Floor Graduate Study Room
Masters of the Big House: Elite Slaveholders of the Mid-Nineteenth-Century South by Call Number: F213 .S35 2003
The Slave Narratives of Texas by Call Number: E445.T47 S52 1997
Till Freedom Cried Out: Memories of Texas Slave Life by Call Number: E444 .T55 1997Also available as e-book.
Selected Resources on the Civil War
Click title to check availability.
Black Soldiers in Blue: African American Troops in the Civil War Era by Call Number: E540.N3 B63 2002
A Black Woman's Civil War Memoirs: Reminiscences of My Life in Camp with the 33rd U.S. Colored Troops, late 1st South Carolina Volunteers by Call Number: E492.94 33rd .T3 1988
Camp William Penn, 1863-1865 by Call Number: E540.N3 S26 2012
Thomas Morris Chester, Black Civil War Correspondent: His Dispatches from the Virginia Front by Call Number: E540.N3 C4 1989
Selected Resources on the World Wars
Double Victory: A Multicultural History of America in World War II by Call Number: D769 .T42 2000Publication Date: 2000
Selected Resources on Civil Rights
Better Day Coming: Blacks and Equality, 1890-2000 by Call Number: E185.61 .F167 2002
Cold War Civil Rights: Race and the Image of American Democracy by Call Number: E185.61 .D85 2000Also available as an e-book.
Debating the Civil Rights Movement, 1945-1968 by Call Number: E185.61 .L377 2006
Defying Dixie: the Radical Roots of Civil Rights, 1919-1950 by Call Number: HN79.A13 G54 2008
Fighting Their Own Battles: Mexican Americans, African Americans, and the Struggle for Civil Rights in Texas by Call Number: F395.M5 B56 2011 * may be on course reserve at the JPL Front DeskAlso available as an e-book.
Gender and Jim Crow: Women and the Politics of White Supremacy in North Carolina, 1896-1920 by Call Number: E185.93 .N6 G55 1996
Jumpin' Jim Crow: Southern Politics from Civil War to Civil Rights by Call Number: F215 .J86 2000
Race, Reform, and Rebellion: The Second Reconstruction and Beyond in Black America, 1945-2006 by Call Number: E185.61 .M32 2007
Remembering Medgar Evers: Writing the Long Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: F349.J13 G85 2013
Running for Freedom: Civil Rights and Black Politics in America since 1941 by Call Number: E185.61 .L38 2015
