- Find Information
- Research Guides
- African American Studies
African American Studies
UTSA Databases & Other Online Resources
- Music Online: African American Music Reference (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Includes comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowA large, and growing digital image library - includes more than two million high-quality images for teaching and research. The various collections include images of artworks (paintings, sculpture, etc.), photography (both "artistic" and documentary) as well as the built environment (architectural structures and monuments).
- Oxford Music Online: Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive music reference resource and logical starting place for biographies, definitions, or information on almost any musical topic. Coverage includes classical music, opera, popular music, jazz, folk, and world music from many cultures and countries. Most articles offer bibliographies, and articles on composers provide detailed lists of works.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive art reference resource and excellent starting place for biographies of artists, architects, patrons, collectors, writers and scholars, as well as discussions of art movements, theory, and criticism. Also provides definitions, bibliographies, and encyclopedic entries concerning almost any art-related topic. Coverage includes the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewelry, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, etc.).
- Black History and Culture (Google Arts & Culture)Explores the history, arts and culture of Black experience in the United States. Includes, photos, documents, video, audio, artwork, music, and more.
- African American Historical Serials Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of primary sources related to African American life and culture features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. It comprises newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
- Encyclopedia of African American Artists by dele jegedeCall Number: N6538 .N5 J44 2009Also available as e-book.
- The Image of the Black in Western Art by David Bindman; Henry Louis Gates, Jr.Call Number: N8232 .I46 2010Multi-volume set. The seminal work on the history of representations of people of African descent in Western art.
- African American Art and Artists by Samella S. LewisCall Number: N6538 .N5 L38 2003
- Art on My Mind by Bell HooksCall Number: N6537 .H585 A2 1995
- Black Art by Richard J. PowellCall Number: N6538 .N5 P64 2002
- Colored Pictures: Race and Visual Representation by Michael D. HarrisCall Number: N8232 .H37 2003
- Creating Their Own Image by Lisa E. FarringtonCall Number: N6538 .N5 F27 2011
- African American Poets by Joyce Owens PettisCall Number: PS153 .N5 P48 2002
- A Companion to African American Literature by Gene Andrew Jarrett (Editor)Call Number: PS153 .N5 C57 2010Also available as e-book.
- Harlem Renaissance by Arnold Rampersad (Foreword by); Nathan Irvin HugginsCall Number: E185.6 .H858 2007Also available as e-book.
- Where Did Our Love Go?: the Rise and Fall of the Motown sound by Nelson GeorgeCall Number: ML3537 .G46 1985
- Blues Masters: The Essential History of the BluesCall Number: ML3561 .J3 B658 2002
- Cultural Codes by William C. Banfield; Bill BanfieldCall Number: ML3479 .B364 2010Also available as e-book.