Industry Research

This guide provides resources and search tips for researching industries.

Sources for Industry Data

Industry statistics may be found in the following sources:

U.S. government agencies
Trade associations' websites and publications
Subscription databases with industry profiles and market research reports
Trade publications, articles, and news
International organizations
Search the web by industry name, e.g. oil industry statistics. Try different search engines.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a repository of standardized and structured statistical data to dynamically compare and manipulate statistical indicators. Data-Planet repository contains more than billions of data points from U.S-based and international public and private organizations. The 16 subject areas include agriculture & food; banking, finance, and insurance; criminal justice and law enforcement; education; energy; government and politics; health and vital statistics; housing & construction; industry and business; international relations and trade; labor and employment; military and defense; natural resources; population and income; prices and cost of living; transportation and traffic. Time series are presented in charts, maps, graphs, and tables via multiple points of entry.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.

data.census.gov (Explore Census Data) This link opens in a new window
A tool to provide access to and manipulate data about the U.S., Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data sources include several censuses and multiple surveys.

U.S. Census Bureau by Topic: Business and Economy
Another point of access to business and economic sections of the Census website.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of U.S. social, political and economic data from Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. All tables are available for download in PDF and Excel formats. Check original sources of data to explore more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each topic section. Updated annually.
Earlier editions (1970-current) accessible using drop down menu. Archived government editions (1878-2012) available free at U.S. Census Bureau and Cybercemetery sites. Tip Sheet.

Industry Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA): Industry Economic Accounts (Bureau of Economic Analysis)
Quarterly and annual GDP by industry, input-output accounts, capital flow. Satellite accounts: arts and cultural production data, innovation (including R&D), healthcare, travel and tourism, transportation.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Based on NAICS supersector, sector and industry levels. Employment, hours and earnings at the national, state and selected local levels. Employment cost trends. Labor productivity and costs, and more.
USDA National Agricultural Library
Data and statistics on agriculture and food industry. Click on Data in the header to access data by keyword, topic, or dataset.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Manuals and OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) interactive statistics for main economic indicators, indicators of industry and services, trade, labor, main science and technology indicators and more. Coverage varies, some from 1970.
IMF E-Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to IMF data and statistical books.

World Bank Data
Global development data, including microdata collected through surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities.

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation (NSF))
Browse by topic; publications, data, and more. Includes Academic Institutions Profiles, Federal R&D Funding by Budget Function, List of Federally Funded R&D Centers, Science and Engineering State Profiles; Women, Minorities and Persons with Disabilities in S&E.
Global Innovation 1000 (Strategy&)
Annual analysis of R&D spending in 1000 global public companies since 2005.
State STEM Report Cards
The Alliance for Science & Technology Research in America (ASTRA) ranks states according to a variety of indices provided by U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, TechAmerica, The Information Technology & Innovation Foundation, and several other organizations which track specific trends in this area.