- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Industry Research
This guide provides resources and search tips for researching industries.
- Getting Started
- Industry Classifications
- U.S. Census Bureau Industry Data
- Industry Financials & Ratios
- Trade Associations
- Regulation & Government Agencies
- Porter's Five Forces
- Value Chain Analysis & VRIO
- Industry Data & Statistics
- Citing in APA
Industry Metrics, Ratios & Benchmarks
- Key Business Ratios (Mergent Online) This link opens in a new windowIndustry benchmarks based on Dun and Bradstreet’s (D&B) database of aggregated financial statements of public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Features 14 key business ratios for the critical areas of business performance – solvency, efficiency, and profitability. Search data by SIC or NAICS code, line of business, asset range and year.
For historical data back to 1979, go to Key Business Ratios Archive (a digital archive of print publications).
- RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new windowProvides performance metrics derived from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. The Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB) provides industry norms including liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios. The Industry Default Probability Data (IDP) uses cash flow measures to project the expected default frequency estimates (EDF) by industry. Data for 760+ industries based on NAICS codes may be examined on a national or regional level. Five year archive
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Includes startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share; failure rates; entrepreneurial activity rates; startup profit & loss detail and ratios; and detailed small business balance sheets, P & L, and ratios.
- MorningStar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new windowGo to Companies > select data to screen on Stock Industry > choose value > view.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S industry reports based on 5 digit NAICS and additional specialized reports. Look up an industry report and go to Key Statistics.
- FirstResearch in ABI/Inform CollectionReports include Industry metrics, benchmark trends, ratios, and 5-year forecasting information.
- Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios by Dun & BradstreetCall Number: HF5681.R25 I525Financial norms and ratios for broad industries by SIC.
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios by Leo TroyCall Number: HF5681 .R25 T861 JPL ReserveProvides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by NAICS code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records. CD-ROMs from 1997-current are available for downloading data in electronic format.
How to Analyze Ratios
- How to Interpret Financial Ratios (RMA)How to calculate and interpret financial ratios: based on Financial Ratio Benchmarks Data from RMA e-statements.
- Business Ratios and Formulas by Steven M. BraggPublication Date: 2012e-book
- Key Management Ratios: Master the Management Metrics that Drive and Control Your Business by Ciaran WalshCall Number: HF5681.R25 W347Publication Date: 2003