- Find Information
- Research Guides
- United States Government Information
United States Government Information
Guide to Federal Government Information and Data
Government Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of U.S. social, political and economic data from Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. All tables are available for download in PDF and Excel formats. Check original sources of data to explore more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each topic section. Updated annually.
Earlier editions (1970-current) accessible using drop down menu. Archived government editions (1878-2012) available free at U.S. Census Bureau and Cybercemetery sites. Tip Sheet.
- Historical Statistics of the United States 1789-1945A supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States; prepared by the Bureau of the Census with the cooperation of the Social Science Research Council.
- data.census.gov (Explore Census Data) This link opens in a new windowPrimary search tool to browse and access U.S. census data and build custom, downloadable tables, charts, reports, maps and data visualizations. Includes detailed data on population, housing, economics, and geographies from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census and other surveys.
Topics and geographies are easy to search using the single search bar, or access more detailed data using the filters in the Advanced Search option.
Access data.census.gov tutorials.
- United States Census BureauCollects and disseminates socio-demographic data about the U.S. population, geography, business, housing, economics, race/ethnicity and educational attainment.
- Narrative Profiles - U.S. CensusGenerate a short, analytic report derived from the American Community Survey 5-year estimates. Provides text and bar charts to display highlights of selected social, economic, housing and demographic estimates for a selected geographic area. Choose from State, County, Place, Census Tract, MSA, Zip Code Tabulation Area, Address Lookup.
- Data.govProvides access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Review the catalog for content or request additional datasets.
- Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Cambridge) This link opens in a new windowContains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history.
v. 1. Population; v. 2. Work and welfare; v. 3. Economic structure and performance; v. 4. Economic sectors v. 5 Government and international relations.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.
- International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2000JPL & Downtown Library HA 175.M55
Comparative historical statistics for the United States. Tables are grouped in broad subject areas with sources of data noted. Topics include climate, population, labor force, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, communications, finance, prices, national accounts and education. - National Vital Statistics Reports (CDC)Provides monthly, annual, and cumulative data on births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and infant deaths for states and the United States, with brief analyses of the vital statistics. 1998-current
For older data see: Vital Statistics of the United States. - Vital Statistics of the United StatesAnnual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
1890-2003
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical datasets covering a variety of subject areas and helps users create charts, maps, graphs, and tables with descriptive summaries and citations. Data is sourced from U.S. and international public and private organizations. Users can compare and contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views. Years of coverage vary depending on dataset.
Agriculture & Food; Banking, Finance, & Insurance; Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement; Education; Energy Resources & Industry; Government & Politics; Health & Vital Statistics; Housing & Construction; Industry, Business & Commerce; International Relations & Trade; Labor & Employment; Military & Defense; Natural Resources & Environment; Population & Income; Prices, Consumption & Cost of Living; Transportation & Traffic.
Budget of the United States
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB).
- govinfo (1996-current) (Official)
- FRASER (1923-current) (St. Louis Federal Reserve)
- War Supplement (1944-1947) (Federal Reserve)
Budget of the United States Government, Historical Tables
Historical Tables provides a wide range of data on Federal Government finances. Many of the data series begin in 1940 and include estimates of the President’s Budget.
Special Analyses, Budget of the United States Government
Federal Reserve: (1967-1990)
Contains facts and figures on special aspects of the President's budgetary recommendations.
- Economic Indicators-Council of Economic Advisers (govinfo)Monthly compilation prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisers provides information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance. (April 1995-current) For older data, see FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research).1948-current.
- Economic Report of the President (FRASER) 1947-currentAnnual report from Chairman of Council of Economic Advisers. Overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. From Federal Reserve.
1995-present also available through Govinfo. - Survey of Current Business (BEA)Bureau of Economic Analysis (1921-current) Monthly Survey is definitive source of information about its economic accounts. Articles in the Survey present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates; describe the methodologies used to prepare the estimates; provide information about major revisions; discuss on-going innovations; and generally keep users up to date on relevant BEA issues and initiatives. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
- Green Book (Committee on Ways and Means)Social and economic statistics prepared by the Committee on Ways and Means. Includes topics such as employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. Updated every two years.
- Summary of Economic Conditions (Beige Book)Compiles evidence of current economic conditions in U.S. summarized by district and sector. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its district through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis. Published eight times per year.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical datasets covering a variety of subject areas and helps users create charts, maps, graphs, and tables with descriptive summaries and citations. Data is sourced from U.S. and international public and private organizations. Users can compare and contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views. Years of coverage vary depending on dataset.
Agriculture & Food; Banking, Finance, & Insurance; Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement; Education; Energy Resources & Industry; Government & Politics; Health & Vital Statistics; Housing & Construction; Industry, Business & Commerce; International Relations & Trade; Labor & Employment; Military & Defense; Natural Resources & Environment; Population & Income; Prices, Consumption & Cost of Living; Transportation & Traffic.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsInformation about the U.S. economy focused on labor statistics and information on employment, worker safety, worker productivity, and more. Provides Economy at a Glance tables for U.S. and regions. Special reports such as Labor Force by Race and Ethnicity.
- Puerto Rican Institute of StatisticsEl Instituto de Estadísticas de Puerto Rico es una entidad pública autónoma con la encomienda de coordinar el servicio de producción de estadísticas del Gobierno para asegurar que los datos y estadísticas de Puerto Rico sean completos, confiables y de rápido y universal acceso.
- Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program(aka Crime in America) Site, created by the FBI, includes full text of the crime reports back to 1995. It includes Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted. Updated yearly.
- Vital Statistics of the United StatesAnnual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
Gender Pay Gap
- Pay Gap Calculator: Pew Research CenterWhat is the gender wage gap in your metropolitan area? See how women’s wages compare with men’s in your metro area.
- America Counts: What is the Gender Wage Gap in Your State?U.S. Census. 2022
- Gender Pay Gap: Data VisualizationU.S. Census : Data Visualization
- Infographic: Women's EarningsU.S. Census. Median Earning by Sex and Education.
- Change in Women's ParticipationU.S. Census; Change in Women's Participation in Selected Occupations Since 2000