Dietetics, Nutrition, and Health

AHRQ is an agency with the Dept. of Health and Human Services. Its "Research," "Tools," and "Data" tab on the homepage guides users to evidence-based reports.

View the questions, conclusion statements and supporting evidence from the list of topics of disease/health topics saliet to the practice of dietetics.
Note: Access is limited to general information without a subscription.

BMI is a reliable indicator of body fatness. This calculator provides BMI and the corresponding BMI weight status category for adults, 20 years old and older.

After BMI is calculated for children and teens, the BMI number is plotted on the CDC BMI-for-age growth charts to obtain a percentile ranking. Percentiles are the most commonly used indicator to assess the size and growth patterns of individual children in the United States.

Contains the full text of all evidence-based medical reviews and protocols prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration. The Library includes six separate databases: Database of Systematic Reviews, Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Database of Abstracts of Reviews and Effects (DARE), Methodology Reviews, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

Evidence based documents through the National Academies Press are used to improve government decision making and public policy, increase public education and understanding, and promote the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge in matters involving science, engineering, technology, and health. All PDF versions of books can be downloaded free.

This online directory of resources from the USDA National Agriculture Library contains 11 broad categories including: Food Safety, Food Labeling, Dietary Supplements, Nutrition Assistance Programs, and Food Composition.

The USDA FoodData Central (formerly Food Composition Database) is the major source of food composition data in
the United States. It provides the foundation for most food composition databases in the public and private sectors.