- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Texas & U.S. Counties
Texas & U.S. Counties
San Antonio Express News & San Antonio Light
- San Antonio Express-News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window2018-current – full image
1990-current (text only) Excludes articles excerpted from other news sources, paid ads and obituaries.
1867-2018 – full image (incomplete)
2016-current – (text only) Web edition articles
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm: AN2 .S3 E9 (1868 - current) (with gaps)
Index (print): JPL 3rd Floor AI21 .S3 S26 (1988-1995)
San Antonio Express-News Photograph Collection (1941-1984)
- San Antonio Express-News Photograph CollectionThe original negatives in this collection chronicle the history of San Antonio through the eyes of Express-News' staff photographers. Check inventory online for contents. 1941-1984. Collection is housed at ITC. Selected photos have been digitized.
- San Antonio Express (Historical) (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowFull-image of Texas’ oldest major newspaper, which began as a weekly in 1865. Includes ads, classifieds, photos & graphics as well as local, national and international news stories. Collection is still being digitized with more issues forthcoming.
Current coverage: 1867-1875, 1898-1906, 1911-2018
- San Antonio LightOnline access to selected issues through Newspaper Archive Texas Collection (1882 - 1977) (UTSA subscription)
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm: AN 2 .S3 L53 (1987 -1993)
Other sources for microfilm: Trinity University (1882 -1992) and San Antonio College (1967-1993)
Photo Archive (UTSA Special Collections Digital Archive)
Portal to Texas History (1883 -1886) (open access)
Paper: Ceased publication 1/28/93
Earlier names: San Antonio Daily Light (1884 -1907)
Light and Gazette.(1907 -2011)
- NewspaperArchive: Texas Collection This link opens in a new windowSearchable full image access to many historical newspapers from all across Texas, including the San Antonio Light (1882 -1977) and the San Antonio Express News (1865-1974). (Some years are incomplete.) Database covers 1813-2022.
San Antonio Local
- ConexiónMicrofilm: Included with San Antonio Express-News.
Weekly newspaper with Hispanic focus (English / Spanish). Affiliated with the San Antonio Express-News.
- La Prensa - San AntonioSan Antonio bilingual newspaper
Print: Kept for 6 months
Microfilm: AN2 .S3 P74 (1913-2002) (JPL 4th Floor Current Periodicals)
Full-Text Electronic Access (2006-current): Ethnic NewsWatch
- San Antonio Area MediaList and links to local media, TV, radio, newspapers
- San Antonio Business Journal This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth coverage and breaking news on the business communities in the local San Antonio area.
Users must first register for an account using their UTSA email address to access the content.
Microfilm: HF5500 .AS26 (Jan. 1989 - Jan. 1996 ) (JPL)
- San Antonio CurrentSource of alternative news, events and culture since 1986
- San Antonio ObserverFocuses on topics of interest to the San Antonio African-American community.
- San Antonio RegisterLocally focused, Black-oriented weekly newspaper.
Paper: Current in Special Collections (John Peace Library)
Microfilm: AN 2 .S3 R43 (1931-2002) (John Peace Library)
Legacy Index: San Antonio Register Index (May 29, 1931 - 1959)
Portal to Texas History (1931-2000)
- San Antonio in the NewsSan Antonio Convention & Visitors Bureau
- UTSA Community ConnectOffice of the Vice President for Community Services
- UTSA TodayNews of the University of Texas at San Antonio.
Texas News Portals & Organizations
- 50States.com (Texas)Extensive links to online editions of Texas newspapers.
- Texas Newspapers and MediaFrom the Legislative Reference Library of Texas. Comprehensive list of newspaper and media sites by Texas city.
- Texas Press AssociationWebsite, contact, history of Texas newspapers
UTSA and Free Databases with Texas Newspapers
Many Texas newspapers, current and historical, are available through UTSA subscription databases.
Check Journal Titles by publication title (e.g., Houston Chronicle) to see which databases cover which years. Search Catalog for print or microform holdings.
- Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text news articles from thousands of U.S., African, Asian, Australian, and European newspapers, newswires, and blogs. Most sources are in English with some Spanish-language sources from the Americas. Does not include paid advertising, photographs, or images.
-- Texas newspapers
-- Access Business News
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view millions of pages of America's historic newspaper from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1885-1977. A historical archive with 1.2 million pages from the Dallas Morning News, one of the state's oldest continuously published newspapers and a paper of record for major news and key events and personalities in Texas history.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and/or full text to nearly 15,000 titles relating primarily to news, business, and legal information.
- NewspaperArchive: Texas Collection This link opens in a new window1813-2021
Searchable full image access to many historical Texas Newspapers including the San Antonio Light (1882 -1977) and the San Antonio Express News (1865-1974). Gaps in coverage.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window(EBSCO) Features full text for 200 regional U.S. newspapers, 30 international newspapers, and radio & TV Broadcasts. Title list
- Portal to Texas History: NewspapersA digital gateway to historical materials from private collectors and collaborative partners, including libraries, museums, archives, and other historical groups.
- Texas Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window131 Texas news sources containing staff-authored articles but not including paid obituaries, advertising, and some free-lance material.
San Antonio Student Newspapers
- The PaisanoStudent newspaper - University of Texas at San Antonio
Archive Online: UTSA Digital Collection Special Collections (1981-1998)
Other Holdings see Library Quick Search
- ? The RattlerStudent newspaper - St. Mary's University
- The Lake FrontStudent newspaper - Our Lady of the Lake University
- The LogosStudent newspaper - University of the Incarnate Word
- The RangerStudent newspaper - San Antonio College
- The TrinitonianStudent newspaper - Trinity University
- The MesquiteStudent newspaper - Texas A&M - San Antonio
- University StarStudent newspaper - Texas State University - San Marcos
Texas Newspapers on Microfilm at UTSA
Runs may not be complete. Please check Library Quick Search for more details.
AN2 A9 A43 Austin American Statesman (1921-1973)
AN2 .A9 A43 Austin Statesman (1869-1891)
AN2 .A9 A43 Austin Statesman and Austin Tribune (1915-1916)
AN2 .A9 A43 Austin American Statesman (1973)
AN2 .A9 A43 Democratic Statesman (1871-1873)
AN2 .A9 C58 Austin City Gazette (1839-1842)
AN2 .B36 E58 Bandera New Era (1918-1946)
AN2 .B7 T49 Texas Republican (1834-1836)
AN2 .C37 M43 Medina Valley & County News Bulletin (1960-1974)
AN2 .F74 R33 Fredericksburg Post (1984)
AN2 .F74 R33 Radio Post (1922-1984)
AN2 .F74 S73 Fredericksburg Standard Radio Post (1984-2003)
AN2 .F74 W6 Fredericksburger Wochenblatt (1890 -1945)
AN2 .H6 P6 Houston Post (1976-1995)
AN2 .K37 C58 Karnes City Citation (1955-1978)
AN2 .K37 C58 Karnes Citation (1978-1988)
AN2 .K46 A38 Kenedy Advance (1911-1982)
AN2 .K46 A38 Kenedy Advance-Times (1982-1988)
AN2 .K47 A38 Kerrville Advance (1912-1919)
AN2 .K47 M68 Kerrville Mountain Sun (1908-1920)
AN2 .K47 M68 Kerrville Mountain Sun and Advance (1920-1926)
AN2 .K47 M68 Mountain Sun (1902–1907)
AN2 .K47 N49 Kerrville News (1909)
AN2 .K47 P37 Kerrville Paper (1899)
AN2 .L37 C76 Cronica (Laredo) (1910-1914) (possibly missing)
AN2 .N39 H49 New Braunfels Herald and Zeitung (1967)
AN2 .S3 A4 Alamo Express (1860)
AN2 .S3 A4 Tri-weekly Alamo Express (1861)
AN2 .S3 C495 Westsider (San Antonio) (1977-1978)
AN2.S3 C66 Conexión: The Weekly Voice of la Cultura (2006:Mar.21 - 2007:Jan.31)
AN2 .S3 D35 Daily Commercial Recorder (1989 - 2002)
AN2 .S3 D354 Daily Herald (San Antonio) (1857-1874)
AN2 .S3 I54 San Antonio Informer: An Urban News Journal (1988-1995)
AN2 .S3 L53 San Antonio Light (1987 - 1993)
AN2 .S3 P74 Prensa de San Antonio. (1913-2002)
AN2 .U9 L4 Uvalde Leader-News (1993-2003)
BM1 .J48 Jewish Journal of San Antonio (1973-2001)
BX1404 .S683 Alamo Messenger:
Official Catholic Newspaper of Archdiocese of San Antonio (1957:Aug.15 - 1971:Dec.24)
BX1404 .S683 Alamo Register:
Official Catholic Newspaper of the Archdiocese of San Antonio (v.1:no.1 (1942:June 5) - v.16:no.11 (1957:Aug.9))
BX1404 .S68 St. Mary's Review v.1:no.8 (1891:May 1) - v.1:no.9 (1891:May 15)
BX1404 .S68 St. Mary's Weekly Review v. 1:no.10 (June 6, 1891) - v.2:no.2 (Jan. 9, 1892)
BX1404 .S68 San Antonio Messenger (1892-1893)
F 381 .T368 Texas Observer v.45 (1954) - v.70 (1978)
HF5500 .A2 S2655 San Antonio Business Journal (1989-1996)
HF5500 .A2S26 San Antonio Executive (1982-1987)
HC107.T4 T46 Texas Business Review (1927-1996)