- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Texas & U.S. Counties
Texas & U.S. Counties
Data and information on Texas and USA counties
- Facts & Figures
- County Histories
- Web Sites
- Texas News
Government Documents Librarian
UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
U.S. Counties in American Community Survey (U.S. Census)
- What Can You Learn About Counties From the American Community Survey?ACS is the premier tool for detailed population and housing information. This easy-to-use visualization tool allows exploration of data from the most recent 5-year estimates.
Age, commuting, education, travel time, employment, foreign born, health insurance, income, households, internet access, and poverty.
Texas Almanac & Texas Histories
- Texas Almanac (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReference, maps and statistical information on the history, culture, politics, climate, economics, and geography of Texas. Includes each Texas County. Each edition has unique topical articles. 2010-current. (EBSCO)
Some content free online from Texas State Historical Commission
Archived online (free): Portal to Texas History (1857-2005)
- Accessible Archives - Texas County Histories This link opens in a new windowCounty histories are important primary sources for historical and genealogical research, providing detailed coverage of local history, including information about individuals, families, and communities.
- Texas Digital Archive - Texas State Library & Archives CommissionNumerous photographs from the later 19th to the early 20th centuries from all across Texas. Also includes documents from Texas agencies and the governor's office.
Texas County Facts & Figures
- Bexar County QuickFacts (U.S. Census)Look up statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
- Population of Texas Counties 1850-2010Chart from Texas Almanac
- Bexar County Official Records SearchSearch land records, plats, foreclosures, marriage licenses, public notices, etc.
- San Antonio Vital Birth & Death Records"The Office of the City Clerk maintains records of births, deaths, and fetal deaths that occur in the County of Bexar. Birth records are available from 1897, death records from 1873, and fetal death records from 1952."
- County Maps of Texas (Atlas)Location: JPL 3rd Floor Map Super Folio Stacks, G1371 .P2 T42
(1990, 1998, 2001)
- Texas Demographic CenterFocal point for the distribution of Census information for Texas. Distributes population estimates and projections as well as other information from the federal & state government and other sources. Monitors demographic and socioeconomic changes in Texas to better inform the Texas executive and legislative branches.
- Texas Health DataFrom Texas Dept. of Health. Create customized statistical reports for birth, death, population and major trauma. For older years (1956-2002), see print: Texas Vital Statistics Texas Documents: Storage Library H 600.8 .V83ST
Access selected reports from 1970-1988 online in HathiTrust
See also: Texas Health Data
- Narrative Profiles - U.S. CensusGenerate a short, analytic report derived from the American Community Survey 5-year estimates. Provides text and bar charts to display highlights of selected social, economic, housing and demographic estimates for a selected geographic area. Choose from State, County, Place, Census Tract, MSA, Zip Code Tabulation Area, Address Lookup.
Texas Election Data
- Texas Secretary of State: Elections DivisionThe Secretary of State is the chief election officer for the State of Texas. Their website includes historical election results by county back to 1992.
- Bexar County Elections DepartmentClick on Election Results Archive to find numbers by precinct for elections in Bexar County back to 1994. There is a link for Voting Locations by Precinct. Data is complicated by the fact that early voters can vote outside their precincts.
- U.S. Census - Voting and RegistrationInformation from the U.S. Population Survey including detailed tables broken down by state.
- The Diversifying Electorate: Voting Rates by Race and Hispanic Origin in 2012 (and Other Recent Elections)From U.S. Current Population Survey
This report provides analysis of the increasingly diverse American electorate, specifically for presidential elections since 1996.
- Election Registers (1836-1980)Information on availability of election registers from Texas State Library & Archives Commission (TSLAC) . Most are on microfilm. UTSA has Microfilm Cabinet HA655 .E44 (Reel 1 - 2, Reel 4 - 30)
- Executive Record Books [Texas] (1835-1917)Location: JPL Microfilm Cabinet HA655 .T49 (Reel 1 - 26)
Description: Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- City, State and County Quick Facts (U.S. Census)QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
- Municipal Year BookDisplays data on cities and counties. Includes statistics on salaries, government finances, and types of government. Various locations depending on year.
- County Population by Characteristics: 2010-2019Data from the U. S. Census Bureau and other Federal agencies, such as Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, FBI, and Social Security Administration. Covers many general topics including demographic data, education, housing, crime, health, poverty, retail & wholesale trade, elections, and water use.Vintage 2019 county population estimates by demographic characteristics.