Texas & U.S. Counties

Current and historical background of Bexar County.

JPL 4th Floor Microfilm Cabinet CD3539 .A8 T42 -- Reel 1 (1717) – Reel 172 (1836)
Consists of more than 250,000 pages of manuscript documentation and 4,000 pages of printed material of colonial archives of Texas produced during the Spanish and Mexican periods, 1717-1836.

Access to digital versions of 1,900 original documents from the Bexar Archives, from 1717 to 1784, many accompanied by English translations. Documents from later periods will be added as time goes on.

JPL 4th Floor Microfilm Cabinet CD3539 .A8 T4213 (Reel 1 – Reel 26)
An inventory of translations from the Bexar Archives.

An online version of the Handbook of Texas. This encyclopedia gives information on the history, geography, and culture of Texas. Look up individual county names for a history of that county. Includes an article on defunct counties. (The New Handbook of Texas) (6 volumes)

Current and historical background of Bexar County.

Arranged alphabetically, this source provides a listing of periodical articles and books on the history of Texas counties.
F386 .J436 1965

(1915 ) Zachary Taylor Fulmore, Online through HathiTrust

SCL Rare Books and ITC F386 .L77 1982
Provides histories of small towns in Texas.

Microfilm can be requested by specific reel number through Get It For Me.

Special Collections houses more than four hundred Texas County histories. Special Collections staff can help you with your research.

Commission was established in 1967 to preserve, protect, and promote the rich history of Bexar County.

Historic inventory of Texas county courthouse records conducted by the Texas County Records Inventory Project in the 1970's. Available from Portal of Texas History.

A historical sketch of the Texas county along with a governmental organization chart and information on the housing, care, and accessibility of the records.

Each survey consists of a soil map and separate book. The maps show many cultural features in the landscape such as businesses, churches, schools, mills, gins, and ferries. The collection embraces all Texas county and reconnaissance soil surveys completed prior to 1950.

From Library of Congress. "Compiled and drawn, from the Records of Surveys in Bexar County, sketches from General Land Office and sketches and memoranda of the present County Surveyor."

Cadastral maps (a map that shows the boundaries and ownership of land parcels)