- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Spanish: Literature, History, Culture & Film
Spanish: Literature, History, Culture & Film
Research guide to databases, websites, and reference works for information on Spanish language literature, history, culture and film
Streaming Video
- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos, audio and text including Ethnographic Video 1 & 2, Ethnic Studies and Area Studies video, Filmakers Library and Anthropology Online (ebooks).
Use Advanced Search to specify a specific language and other criteria..
- Sony Picture Classics Spanish-language films (Alexander Street)Alexander Street Press has 30 streaming Spanish-language videos from Sony Picture Classics including films by Pedro Almodovar.
- Spanish-language streaming feature films in Alexander Street45 Spanish language streaming feature films, many from Latin America, from the 1950's to current.
- South American streaming films in Alexander Street94 Spanish and Portuguese language streaming feature films from South America.
- Spanish language films, documentaries, language learning instruction in Alexander Street825 Spanish-language films, documentaries, language learning instruction, ethnographic, performance and other materials.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
- Filmakers Library (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to hundreds of online videos focusing on the study of human culture and behavior in every region of the world. Features the works of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams over 1,000 educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Business, including many in Spanish. Titles include: Mario Vargas Llosa: In Love with Peru; Invisible Line: Spain's Islamic Heritage; Gabriel Garcia Marquez: La Magia de lo Real; Cantar de Mio Cid; Literature of Spain: 1975 to the Present; La España de Felipe II; Caudillo: The History of the Spanish Civil War.
Classic Mexican Cinema
- Classic Mexican Cinema This link opens in a new windowProvides access to important periodicals in Mexican cinema, including Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1954-1955), and Cinelandia (1931-1947, published in both Spanish and English), and features rare copies of El Cine Gráfico from 1935 and of the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910). Includes dozens of film flyers and the personal scrapbooks of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), one of the leading Latin American filmmakers. Scrapbooks contain reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements.
Some Popular Spanish Language Films on DVD
- Clandestine ChildhoodCritically acclaimed historical drama. Set in the time of Argentina's last military dictatorship (1976-1983)
- German Doctor, ThePatagonia, 1960. A German war criminal is befriended by an Argentine family.
- Hijo de la Novia (Son of the Bride)Rafael feels guilty that he doesn't visit his mother, who is stricken with Alzheimer's disease
- Nueve Reinas (Nine Queens)Crime drama. Two con men try to pull off a swindle.
- Plata Quemada (Burnt Money)Two gay thugs Angel (Eduardo Noriega) and El Nene (Leonardo Sbaraglia) join a plan to hold up an armored truck with a group of seasoned gangsters.
- Relatos salvajes (Wild Tales)Six short stories involving people out for vengeance. 2015 Academy Award Best Foreign Language Film.
- Secreto de Sus Ojos (The Secret in Their Eyes)A retired legal counselor writes a novel hoping to find closure for one of his past unresolved homicide cases.
- No2012 Chileans vote on whether dictator Augusto Pinochet should stay in power. Starring: Gael Garcia Bernal.
- Green InfernoA group of student activists travels to the Amazon to save the rain forest and soon realize that they are not alone.
- The ClubFour priests exiled to a small seaside town to atone for the sins of their pasts find their fragile stability disrupted by the arrival of a newly-disgraced companion in this taut blackly comic drama.
- Nana (The Maid)Raquel has worked as a housemaid for an upper-class Santiago, Chile, family for 23 years.
- GloriaComedy, A vibrant older woman gets caught up in a passionate whirlwind romance with a retired naval officer, Chile's submission to 2014 Academy Awards Best Foreign Language Film.
- TrumanTwo friends set out to finalize one of the friend's funeral arrangements, settle his accounts and, most importantly, find a home for his beloved dog,
Goya Award Best Actor: Ricardo Darin
La Otra Conquista - The Other Conquest
Los Olvidados - The Young and the Damned
Amores Perros - Love's a Bitch
Las Islas Marías - Pedro Infante
Best Foreign Language Oscar submissions from Spain
Julieta - Almodovar - - 2016
Flowers for Ane - (Basque) -- 2015
Living is Easy with Eyes Closed - 2014
Blancanieves - 2012
Even the Rain -- 2010 (shortlisted)
Orfanato (Orphanage) - 2007
Volver - Almodovar - 2006 (shortlisted)
Obaba - 2005
Mar Adentro (The Sea Inside) Javier Bardem - 2004
Based on a true story of a quadriplegic's 30-year battle to end his own life. Winner Academy Award. 2004
Mondays in the Sun (Los Lunes al sol) - 2002
Juana la Loca (Mad Love) - 2001
All About My Mother (Todo sobre mi madre) - Almodovar - 1999
El Abuelo (The Grandfather) - 1998
Secrets of the Heart (Secretos del corazon) - 1997
Flower of My Secret (La flor de mi secreto) - Almodovar - 1995
Belle Epoque - 1993
High Heels (Tacones Lejanos) - Almodovar - 1991
Ay, Carmela! - Carlos Saura - (VHS) - 1990
Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown (Mujeres al borde de un ataque de nervios)- Almodovar - 1988 (nominated)
Carmen - Carlos Saura - 1983
That Obscure Object of Desire - Bunuel - 1977 (nominated)
Cria Cuervos (Raise Ravens) - Carlos Saura - 1976
Other films from Spain
Jamón Jamón A Tale of Ham and Passion
Atáme - Tie Me Up Tie Me Down - Almodovar
Belle de Jour - Buñuel
- Pa Negre (Black Bread)Streaming : Alexander Street Press
2010
Winner 13 Gaudi Awards & 10 Goya Awards and 1st Catalan language film nominated for Best Foreign Language Oscar.
In the harsh years of post-war rural Catalonia, young Andreu comes across the bodies of a man and his son in the woods. When the authorities blame his father, the boy sets out to discover who really killed them. - La Casa de Mi AbuelaStreaming: Alexander Street Press
Being 6 years old, and having to live with your grandmother who is 75 years and has very old fashioned ideas, is not easy. - Carícies = CaressesDVD PN1997.S7 C273 2005
Set in Barcelona, portrays eleven interlocking stories of intimate encounters, laced with humor. - AnimalsDVD PN1997.S7 A55 2013
Pol, a teenager who lives with his brother and studies at a British high school, is content to pal around with Deerhoof, his opinionated, drums-playing, English-speaking imaginary teddy bear, until Ikari, an enigmatic and alluring student who fascinates Pol, arrives at school. - Dalí : Teatre-MuseuDVD N7113.D3 D3558 2003
Includes a room-by-room virtual tour of Dali's "Theatre-Museum" in Figueres, Spain, as well as biographical information about the artist and personal analysis of some of his most famous paintings. - Dalí Port LligatDVD N7113.D3 D3557 2003
Includes a room-by-room virtual tour of Dali's home at Port Lligat,
- El Baño del Papa (The Pope's Toilet)An Uruguayan town on the Brazilian border, awaits the visit of Pope John Paul II.
- GiganteA shy and lonely 35 year old security guard at a supermarket works the night shift monitoring the surveillance cameras.
- WhiskyThe owner of a struggling sock company doesn't want his visiting brother to know he's single so he asks a woman to pretend she's his wife.
Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library
- Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library - HIDVLThe Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library, a collaboration of the Hemispheric Institute for Performance and Politics and New York University Libraries, is an online archive of rare video documenting social performance in the Americas. It includes a browsable collection of video art, and extensive artist profiles in English, Spanish and Portuguese.
Background Reference
- El Cine Español: Historia, Actores, y Directories byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN1993.5 M44
- Diccionario del cine mexicano, 1970-2000 byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN1993.5 M4 D53
- Historia documental del cine mexicano byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN1993.5 .M4 G295 1993Eighteen-volume encyclopedia giving the synopsis, cast and history of Mexican films from 1938 through 1975 by a renowned expert on Mexican cinema, Emilio Garcia Riera.
- Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN1993.5 S7 M553 2010
- South American Cinema byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN1993.5.S63 S68 1998Basic information and summaries of the most well-known films from South America.