- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Spanish: Literature, History, Culture & Film
Spanish: Literature, History, Culture & Film
Research guide to databases, websites, and reference works for information on Spanish language literature, history, culture and film
Spanish Literature: Reference Resources
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFor articles on literature in any language, the standard, comprehensive indexing source is MLAIB. Note that some of these will cite journals not owned by UTSA.
-
Diccionario de Escritores Mexicanos, siglo XX byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PQ7155 .D5Nine volume dictionary of Twentieth Century Mexican writers.
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature byCall Number: E-bookSurvey articles on individual countries as well as entries on individual authors, genres and literary terms.
-
Latin American Writers byCall Number: E-bookThree volumes. Scholarly biographies and literary criticism on major Latin American authors. Includes bibliography of published works.
-
Diccionario Espasa Literatura Española byCall Number: PQ6051 .B74 2003Extensive biographical dictionary of Spanish authors.
-
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PQ6055 .F46 2002Spanish literature from a women's perspective. Includes biographical entries with surveys of Catalan, Galician, and Basque literature.
-
Handbook of Spanish Popular Culture byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor DP48 .S68 1999Includes topics on music, literature, film, music, and television.
-
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PQ6006 .O93Spanish literature and related subjects with coverage from Roman times to the mid-1970s.
-
Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PQ7081.3 .F57 1992Biography and literary criticism of the major writers of Latin America of the twentieth century. The extensive bibliography lists both Spanish and English sources.
-
Spanish-American Women Writers: A Bibliographical Research Checklist byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PQ7081 .C66 1983Biography, literary criticism, and bibliography of 50 major women writers of Latin America.