- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Chemistry
Chemistry
Scientific Writing
Scientific writing or science writing usually refers to research articles reporting original research in journals. Science writing also includes other kinds of writing such as review articles (which summarize and synthesize previous research articles on a specific topic), annotated bibliographies (which aid others in performing their research), abstracts or notes (which summarize experiments or studies), and grant proposals (which seek funding for research). The point of science writing is for a scientist to communicate with an audience of peers. Since the purpose is communication and not entertainment, scientific writing should be precise, clear and objective.
Here are some resources to help you write for academic science audiences:
- How to Write a Good Scientific Paper - by Chris A. Mack
Free PDF Download
ISBN 9781510619135
Publication Date: 2018
Writing for a peer-reviewed scientific or engineering journal requires learning and executing a specific formula for presenting scientific work. This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal. From structure to style, titles to tables, abstracts to author lists, this book gives practical advice about the process of writing a paper and getting it published
Write Like a Chemist by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor, QD9.15 .W75 2008ISBN: 0195367421Publication Date: 2008Written with National Science Foundation support and extensively piloted in chemistry courses nationwide, it offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
Scientific Style and Format by ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing. Scientific Style and Format citation style has been comprehensively reorganized, and its style recommendations have been updated to align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. Also new to the eighth edition are guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Style instructions for physics, chemistry, genetics, biological sciences, and astronomy have been adjusted to reflect developments in each field. The coverage of numbers, units, mathematical expressions, and statistics has been revised and now includes more information on managing tables, figures, and indexes. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons. For the first time in its history, Scientific Style and Format will be available simultaneously in print and online at www.scientificstyleandformat.org. Online subscribers will receive access to full-text searches of the new edition and other online tools, as well as the popular Chicago Manual of Style Online Forum, a community discussion board for editors and authors. Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by ISBN: 9780313330278Publication Date: 2006To be useful, scientific research needs to be explained clearly to others to colleagues, to administrators, to foundations and governmental bodies, and to the public. This thoroughly revised edition of the classic "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" gives beginning scientists and experienced researchers alike practical advice on writing about their work and publishing what they write. The core of the book consists of a how-to guide to writing and publishing research articles for scientific journals, explaining every step of the process, from choosing a suitable journal for your work to presenting the results and citing references. "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" is the essential guide every scientist needs to achieve success in today's competitive environment. This revised edition of "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" provides such practical advice for anyone working in any scientific discipline who needs to communicate his or her work effectively to others."
Science Research Writing for Non-native Speakers of English by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor, PE1475 .G57 2010ISBN: 1848163096Publication Date: 2009This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English.
Write Like a Chemist by ISBN: 9780195367423Publication Date: 2008Meant as a companion to The ACS Style Guide, not a competitor, this book is an extraordinary resource for upper-level chemistry majors as well as graduate students faced with writing a journal article, a conference abstract, or a thesis. Full of prepared research projects and exercises, WriteLike a Chemist provides expert instruction ideal for students from diverse backgrounds, including both native and nonnative speakers of English.It is specifically designed to help students transition from the writing skills required in undergraduate lecture and laboratory classes to writing skills required by career chemists: a journal article, a scientific poster, and a research proposal. Each of these types of writing is directed towarda different audience, and writing for a journal requires a different writing style than writing a research proposal for the National Science Foundation. Thus to write like a chemist requires that one learns to write for different audiences. This book assists young scientists in developing thatessential writing skill.
Managing Citations
ACS Style
ACS style was created by the American Chemical Society for use in chemistry publications and follows guidelines set forth by the ACS Style Guide.
ACS Style Examples
Author, A.A.; Author, B.B. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation Year, Volume, xx-xx
Caruso, R. A.; Susha, A.; Caruso, F. Multilayered Titania, Silica, and Laponite Nanoparticle Coatings on Polystyrene Colloidal Templates and Resulting Inorganic Hollow Spheres. Chem.Mater. 2001, 13, 400–409.
Author, A.A.; Author, B.B. Journal Abbreviation Year, Volume, xx-xx; Chem. Abstr. Year, Volume, ColumnAbst Number
Mohamed, A. M.; Hawata, A.; El-Torgoman, M.; El-Kousy, S. M.; Ismail, A. E.; Øgaard Madsen, J.; Søtofte, I.; Senning, A. Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2002, 2039–2045; Chem. Abstr. 2003, 138, 4195
Author, A.A. (if any). Title of Site. URL (accessed Month Day, Year), other identifying information (if any)
ACS Publications Division Home Page. http://pubs.acs.org (accessed Nov 7, 2004). Chemical Abstracts Service. STN on the Web. http://stnweb.cas.org (accessed Nov 7, 2004)
Author, A.A.; Author, B.B. Chapter Title. Book Title, Edition; Series Information (if avail.); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Volume, pp xx-xx
DAT 2017-2018: strategies, practice and review; Kaplan Publishing: New York, NY, 2016
(Belosludtsev, Juškevičius et al. 2017)
APA Style Guide
APA Style was developed by the American Psychological Association for use in the social sciences but is frequently used by researchers from other scientific disciplines as well.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Publication Date: 2009The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication.
It features expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review. It contains a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. This title lets you examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing. It lets you familiarize yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.
APA Style - 7th edition
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page range. DOI's URL
Example:
Baider, L., Uziely, B., & Kaplan De-Nour, A. (1994). Progressive muscle relaxation and guided imagery in cancer patients. General Hospital Psychiatry, 16(5), 340–347. https://doi.org/10.1016/0163-8343(94)90021-3
NOTE:
List up to 20 authors by their last names followed by initials. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author.
Author (person or organization). (Year published or updated) Title of page. Website. https://xxxxx
*Substitute (n. d.). for the year if there is no known date of publication.
Example:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (2010). Facing down PTSD, vet is now soaring high. http://www.mentalhealth.va.gov/featureArticle_Feb.asp
Walker, A. (2019, November 14). Germany avoids recession but growth remains weak. BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/business-50419127
Last, A. A., Last, B. B., & Last, C. C. (Year). Book title. Publisher.
*Substitute (n. d.). for the year if there is no known date of publication.
Example:
Achterberg, J. (1985). Imagery in healing. Shambhala Publications.
NOTE:
List up to 20 authors by their last names followed by initials. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author.
Include the author's last name and publication year:
Example:
Teaching techniques and reflecting on the group process are unique components of guided imagery received in a group context (Yalom & Leszcz, 2005).
Or you can introduce the citation like this:
Example:
For example, Ball et al. (2003) conducted guided imagery in a group psychotherapy format with 11 children ...
For a direct quotation, include the page number:
Example:
Guided imagery and relaxation techniques have even been found to “reduce distress and allow the immune system to function more effectively” (Trakhtenberg, 2008, p. 850).
For more information on in-text citing, consult this page: