Topic
Throughout San Antonio, food insecurity is epidemic. Determine the validity of the claim by using the most current statistics available dealing with food insecurity in San Antonio and the surrounding area. You may wish to begin by determining which areas of the city are the most economically challenged and identifying where food deserts might exist. In order to address the claim, be sure to examine the current statistics and relative data. Use the Center for Disease Control: www.cdc.gov/obesity Texas Department of Dealth: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/obesity
Data
- United States Department of AgricultureData on food access, food deserts, nutrition, and more.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.
Articles
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts thousands of journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, many in full text. Also includes full-text books, monographs, and conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in the early 1880s, but most coverage begins in the late 1990s.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily