- Find Information
- Research Guides
- SWK 5203: Social Work Research (Russell)
SWK 5203: Social Work Research (Russell)
- Chicano Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes materials, including more than 125 journals, on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos from 1967 to the present. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, an indexing and abstracting resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. From 1992 on includes the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
- Family Studies Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
- PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new windowCovers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Also freely available here.
- Sage Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects. Browse by method, discipline and academic level.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles from more than 450 journals in all areas of social work, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Also includes access to The Register of Clinical Social Workers, a directory of clinical social workers in the United States that contains contact information, education and employment history, and practice and licensing information. Only a few people can use this database at one time.
- Primary SourcesPrimary sources are the evidence of history, original records or objects created by participants or observers at the time historical events occurred or even well after events, as in memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include but are not limited to: letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, maps, speeches, interviews, documents produced by government agencies, photographs, audio or video recordings, born-digital items (e.g. emails), research data, and objects or artifacts (such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons). These sources serve as the raw materials historians use to interpret and analyze the past. (American Library Association)
- African American Communities (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowFocusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
- American Indian Newspapers (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1828-2016. A collection of 45 unique titles from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada that includes national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from tribal communities of the Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Comanche, Ho-Chunk, Navajo, and Osage, among others. Key topics include activism and protest, American Indian Movement, sovereignty, cultural promotion and language revitalization, public health and welfare, education, and more.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new windowDigitized primary source material concerning the African American civil rights struggle in two modules: Federal Government Records and Organizational Records and Personal Papers.
- Border and Migration Studies Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events across Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe, from the 19th to the 21st centuries. Topics include border identities, border control, border disputes, human trafficking, undocumented migration, and more.
- Immigration: Records of the INS - 1880-1930 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new windowTurn of the century files cover immigration of various groups to the United States, including Japanese and Chinese immigration, European immigration, and Mexican immigration between 1906-1930. There are also extensive files on the regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
- NAACP Papers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1909-1972. Digitized primary source material from the NAACP. Six modules containing nearly two million pages document the NAACP’s work on behalf of civil rights, including the fight for voting rights and campaigns against segregated education, discrimination and segregation in public places, residential discrimination, discrimination in the workplace and the armed forces, and the campaign against lynching, among others. Also included are the NAACP’s national organizational records, annual conferences, major speeches, regional branch records, and Legal Department files. Use Advanced Search for keyword searching or use the timeline to find records of significant events.
- Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers (1887-1997) from counties at or near the Texas border. Includes titles published in Spanish and French as well as English. Freely available from University of North Texas Portal to Texas History.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to books, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, plus over 1,000 images, 3,600 documents, and 900 links to other websites, documenting the history of women in social movements in the U.S. from colonial times through the twentieth century. In addition, 92 document projects examine interpretive questions concerning women's history throughout this time period. New documents and document projects are added annually.
Datasets and Statistics
- Sage Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new windowContains practice datasets from actual research which may be used for teaching and mastering qualitative and quantitative data analysis. Browse by method, discipline, and data type.
- RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive portfolio of statistics for all 50 states including business and economics, community, education, energy and environment, government finance, health and socioeconomic, population and demographics.
- RAND Texas Statistics This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive portfolio of statistics for the State of Texas including business and economics, community, education, energy and environment, government finance, health and socioeconomic, population and demographics.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area. Additional modules include:
1. SimmonsLOCAL, a targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets drilled down the block group level.
2. Claritas PRIZM, a consumer segmentation system which combines demographic, consumer behavior, and geographic data into 66 consumer segments to help marketers identify, understand, and target their customers and prospects.
3.Claritas ConneXions, a consumer segmentation system which classify U.S households into 53 consumer segments based on the technology and communications purchasing and usage preferences.
4. Claritas P$YCLE, a consumer segmentation system which classifies U.S. households into one of 58 consumer segments based on the income-producing assets.
Only a few people can use this database at one time.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.
- Texas Demographic Center This link opens in a new windowThe Center, in cooperation with a network of affiliates, is a focal point for the distribution of Census information for Texas including population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other information from the federal and state government, and other sources.
- Khana Academy Statistics and ProbabilityKhan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!
- Congress.gov This link opens in a new windowOfficial website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes bills and resolutions, committee reports, the Congressional Record, Presidential nominations, treaties, summary and status of legislation, congressional member profiles, roll call votes, appropriations, maps, and other related documents. Replaces THOMAS.gov.
- CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text reference resources on topics in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Congress, Public Affairs, Voting and Elections, and Supreme Court collections, as well as Encyclopedia of American Government. Also includes CQ Almanac, CQ Global Researcher, and CQ Political Reference Suite titles: Congress and the Nation, Political Handbook of the World, Historic Documents Series, Washington Information Directory, and Politics in America. Collections may contain dictionary or encyclopedia entries, image galleries, and maps.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new windowU.S. government-funded web resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. NCJRS consists of several significant resources, including an Abstracts Database, which provides summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice-oriented publications; the NCJRS Virtual Library, a collection of more than 7,000 criminal justice publications; and statistical sources on crime, substance abuse, and justice.
Human Subjects Research: Instruments
- PsycTESTS (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA collection of testing literature culled from researchers, peer-reviewed journals, books and handbooks, dissertations, websites, the Archives of the History of American Psychology Test Collection, and commercial test publishers. Includes information on test development, review, usage, and actual testing instruments. Tests are on a wide range of subjects, including developmental, personality, intelligence, military, and more. Coverage 1910-present. Updated monthly.
- DSM Library This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5, the most current resource for diagnosing and assessing mental disorders. Also included are the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, a resource for students and clinicians learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Case Studies which represent the mental disorders presented in the DSM-5 and provide diagnostic concepts, symptoms and severity of each disorder, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowContains a variety of resources relevant to psychology and psychiatry, including the DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Case Studies. Also included are The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, Gabbard's Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders, Textbook of Psychotherapeutic Treatments, The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology, Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology, and Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury. Also includes comprehensive coverage of The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, and Psychiatric News.