SWK 5203: Social Work Research (Russell)

Finding Your Ethical Research Self introduces novice researchers to the need for ethical reflection in practice and gives them the confidence to use their knowledge and skill when, later as researchers, they are confronted by big ethical moments in the field. The 12 chapters build on each other, but not in a linear way. Core ethical concepts like consent and confidentiality once established in the early chapters are later challenged. The new focus becomes how to address qualitative research ethics when confidentiality and consent take on a limited form. This approach helps students understand that the application of concepts always requires thoughtful adaptation in different contexts and the book provides guidance on how to do this. Classroom/workbook exercises develop alternative solutions to create process consent, internal confidentiality, and engage reference groups, as examples. The first eight chapters allow students to develop their ethical research self before thinking through how they might address formal ethics review. Formal ethics review is deliberately not introduced until Chapter 9. Chapter 10 offers practical help to elements of review, before Chapter 11 emphasises the key message by providing examples of researchers' dilemmas in the field using vignettes and discussion. By providing these examples, students become aware that these can arise, explore how they might arise, and recognise how they might deal with them in the moment when they are unavoidable. With numerous examples of ethical dilemmas and issues and questions and exercises to encourage self-reflection, this reflexive, learn-by-doing model of research ethics will be highly useful to the novice researcher, undergraduate, and postgraduate research student.

This open access textbook offers a practical guide into research ethics for undergraduate students in the social sciences. A step-by-step approach of the most viable issues, in-depth discussions of case histories and a variety of didactical tools will aid the student to grasp the issues at hand and help him or her develop strategies to deal with them. This book addresses problems and questions that any bachelor student in the social sciences should be aware of, including plagiarism, data fabrication and other types of fraud, data augmentation, various forms of research bias, but also peer pressure, issues with confidentiality and questions regarding conflicts of interest. Cheating, 'free riding', and broader issues that relate to the place of the social sciences in society are also included. The book concludes with a step-by-step approach designed to coach a student through a research application process.

Are formal ethics research guidelines congruent with the aims and methodology of inductive and qualitative social research? Using the experiences of 16 Canadian, American, and British researchers, this collection explores answers to the question.

This comprehensive Handbook is the first to provide a practical, interdisciplinary review of ethical issues as they relate to quantitative methodology including how to present evidence for reliability and validity, what comprises an adequate tested population, and what constitutes scientific knowledge for eliminating biases. The book uses an ethical framework that emphasizes the human cost of quantitative decision making to help researchers understand the specific implications of their choices. The order of the Handbook chapters parallels the chronology of the research process: determining the research design and data collection; data analysis; and communicating findings. Each chapter: Explores the ethics of a particular topic Identifies prevailing methodological issues Reviews strategies and approaches for handling such issues and their ethical implications Provides one or more case examples Outlines plausible approaches to the issue including best-practice solutions. Part 1 presents ethical frameworks that cross-cut design, analysis, and modeling in the behavioral sciences. Part 2 focuses on ideas for disseminating ethical training in statistics courses. Part 3 considers the ethical aspects of selecting measurement instruments and sample size planning and explores issues related to high stakes testing, the defensibility of experimental vs. quasi-experimental research designs, and ethics in program evaluation. Decision points that shape a researchers' approach to data analysis are examined in Part 4 - when and why analysts need to account for how the sample was selected, how to evaluate tradeoffs of hypothesis-testing vs. estimation, and how to handle missing data. Ethical issues that arise when using techniques such as factor analysis or multilevel modeling and when making causal inferences are also explored. The book concludes with ethical aspects of reporting meta-analyses, of cross-disciplinary statistical reform, and of the publication process. This Handbook appeals to researchers and practitioners in psychology, human development, family studies, health, education, sociology, social work, political science, and business/marketing. This book is also a valuable supplement for quantitative methods courses required of all graduate students in these fields.

Psychology Research Methods: A Writing Intensive Approach provides instruction in critical concepts and processes in behavioral science research methods and skills in formulating and writing research papers. The book creates an experiential approach to learning, with chapters organized around the task of writing a complete APA-style research paper. The chapters consist of instructional text, excerpts from published research articles, and learning activities. The reading activities help students develop skills in reading scientific research, evaluating and analyzing scientific information, and assembling evidence to make a scientific argument. The writing activities help students to break down the process of writing a research paper into manageable and meaningful components. As students complete the chapter activities, they assemble their research paper. The book teaches research methods in a clinical context, inspired by the National Institute of Health's Science of Behavior Change Program. Students acquire knowledge about research methods as they read research articles about behavioral health disorders, including studies about their prevalence, causes, and treatment. Teaching research methods with a clinical focus helps students appreciate the value of psychological research. Psychology Research Methods: A Writing Intensive Approach provides instruction in critical concepts and processes in behavioral science research methods and skills in formulating and writing research papers. The book creates an experiential approach to learning, with chapters organized around the task of writing a complete APA-style research paper. The chapters consist of instructional text, excerpts from published research articles, and learning activities. The reading activities help students develop skills in reading scientific research, evaluating and analyzing scientific information, and assembling evidence to make a scientific argument. The writing activities help students to break down the process of writing a research paper into manageable and meaningful components. As students complete the chapter activities, they assemble their research paper. The book teaches research methods in a clinical context, inspired by the National Institute of Health's Science of Behavior Change Program. Students acquire knowledge about research methods as they read research articles about behavioral health disorders, including studies about their prevalence, causes, and treatment. Teaching research methods with a clinical focus helps students appreciate the value of psychological research. Psychology Research Methods: A Writing Intensive Approach provides instruction in critical concepts and processes in behavioral science research methods and skills in formulating and writing research papers. The book creates an experiential approach to learning, with chapters organized around the task of writing a complete APA-style research paper. The chapters consist of instructional text, excerpts from published research articles, and learning activities. The reading activities help students develop skills in reading scientific research, evaluating and analyzing scientific information, and assembling evidence to make a scientific argument. The writing activities help students to break down the process of writing a research paper into manageable and meaningful components. As students complete the chapter activities, they assemble their research paper. The book teaches research methods in a clinical context, inspired by the National Institute of Health's Science of Behavior Change Program. Students acquire knowledge about research methods as they read research articles about behavioral health disorders, including studies about their prevalence, causes, and treatment. Teaching research methods with a clinical focus helps students appreciate the value of psychological research.