- Find Information
- Research Guides
- SWK 5203: Social Work Research (Russell)
SWK 5203: Social Work Research (Russell)
Information Specialist
Outline & Objective
The design and purpose of this research guide are to aid with the research process to show how to find: scholarships, instruments, policy, statistical information, and demographic data that focus on one's topic of interest.
Please contact your Librarian, Diane López, at diane.lopez2@utsa.edu with any questions, concerns, or help to navigate the UTSA Libraries website and databases.
Topic Finder
- Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in a wide-range of disciplines for background information. Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Social Work Research Resources
Practice-Based Research in Social Work by ISBN: 9780203155639Publication Date: 2012-03-12This unique textbook explores practice-based research (PBR), using numerous practice examples to actively encourage and engage students and practitioners to embrace research as meaningful support for their practice.
- Research on Social Work PracticeResearch on Social Work Practice (RSWP), peer-reviewed and published eight times per year, is a disciplinary journal devoted to the publication of empirical research concerning the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice. Intervention programs covered include behavior analysis and therapy; psychotherapy or counseling with individuals; case management; and education. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
- Research on Social Work Practice (RSWP), Special Issue on Global Approaches to Research for Family Social WorkThe main purpose of this special issue, Global Approaches to Family Social Work Research, is to augment the knowledge base of effective social work practices and solutions that support families. This special issue is based on submissions to the conference, Second International Scientific Conference of Research on Family Services planned by the Centre for Family Research of Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun, Poland. It was intended to bring together social work researchers from around the world. Authors of these collected texts examined the practice of social work with families under various geographical, cultural, social, and administrative contexts.
Research Resources
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowContains content on research methods from books, journals and reference sources; research methods videos; tutorials; case studies showing how research methods are applied; and practice datasets from actual research. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Includes entire "Little Green Book" (quantitative research) and "Little Blue Book" (qualitative research) series.
- Sage Research Methods Video This link opens in a new windowContains more than 120 hours of video, including tutorials, case studies, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Videos are well-suited for flipped instruction, embedding in course management systems, and for use in-class. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action.
Required and Recommened Texts and Materials
PDQ Statistics by ISBN: 9781607950776Publication Date: 2003-01-01The third edition of PDQ Statistics provides an overview of all major statistical methods. It covers the major categories - variable and descriptive statistics, parametric statistics, non-parametric statistics, and multivariate statistics.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
- Foundations of Social Work Research
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Foundations of Social Work Research was created to introduce research methods for BSW and MSW students, emphasizing research and practice relevant to students.
APA 7th Additional Resources
- Excelsior College OWLThe Excelsior OWL is designed to provide support for writers as they begin the process of writing for college and as they transition to writing outside of their introductory writing classes or programs.
- APA Instructional AidsThe instructional aids on this page are intended for anyone looking to improve their knowledge of APA Style. They include tutorials and webinars developed by Style experts to provide an overview of seventh edition APA Style. There are also handouts, guides, and sample papers designed by APA Style in conjunction with instructors that can be printed, downloaded, and used while writing papers. More instructional resources will be added to the website as they are available.
Because the scope of what constitutes a student paper is broad and flexible and varies by course and academic institution, there are no formal requirements for APA Style student papers. Students should follow the guidelines of their instructor, advisor, department, and/or institution when writing papers. We encourage instructors, departments, and institutions to adapt APA Style to fit their needs.
APA Style - 7th edition
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page range. DOI's URL
Example:
Baider, L., Uziely, B., & Kaplan De-Nour, A. (1994). Progressive muscle relaxation and guided imagery in cancer patients. General Hospital Psychiatry, 16(5), 340–347. https://doi.org/10.1016/0163-8343(94)90021-3
NOTE:
List up to 20 authors by their last names followed by initials. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author.
Author (person or organization). (Year published or updated) Title of page. Website. https://xxxxx
*Substitute (n. d.). for the year if there is no known date of publication.
Example:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (2010). Facing down PTSD, vet is now soaring high. http://www.mentalhealth.va.gov/featureArticle_Feb.asp
Walker, A. (2019, November 14). Germany avoids recession but growth remains weak. BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/business-50419127
Last, A. A., Last, B. B., & Last, C. C. (Year). Book title. Publisher.
*Substitute (n. d.). for the year if there is no known date of publication.
Example:
Achterberg, J. (1985). Imagery in healing. Shambhala Publications.
NOTE:
List up to 20 authors by their last names followed by initials. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author.
Include the author's last name and publication year:
Example:
Teaching techniques and reflecting on the group process are unique components of guided imagery received in a group context (Yalom & Leszcz, 2005).
Or you can introduce the citation like this:
Example:
For example, Ball et al. (2003) conducted guided imagery in a group psychotherapy format with 11 children ...
For a direct quotation, include the page number:
Example:
Guided imagery and relaxation techniques have even been found to “reduce distress and allow the immune system to function more effectively” (Trakhtenberg, 2008, p. 850).
For more information on in-text citing, consult this page: