Industry Profiles
You may find industry profiles in these UTSA databases:
Hoover's Directory
Hoover's is a free website which is an excellent starting place for your industry research. You can get short industry profiles, industry codes, trade associations, major competitors, industry news and more.
S&P Industry Surveys
E-Books
Search within these e-books or browse the table of contents.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries 5th ed., 2008.
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries 5th ed., 2007. Detailed profiles for newer industries, such as biometrics, risk management services, satellites, specialty tourism, and others.
- Encyclopedia of Global Industries 3rd ed., 2006.
Consulting Companies: Industry Insights
More Websites
- Global EDGE A Michigan State University site.
- Polson Enterprises' Industry Portals
- Reuters Industries
- Valuation Resources A guide to over 400 industries. Some resources are fee-based, but access to associations and government agencies sites is free.
- Yahoo Industry Center
- QFinance
Industry Research Checklist
Ø Identify your industry classification codes:
- Browse SIC & NAICS manuals
- Browse the Hoover's Industry directory
- Run a search for <industry name>
industry hoovers - Run a search for <industry name>
NAICS - Identify a major public company in your industry, check its company profile in the recommended databases for industry codes. Remember that a company may have more than one industry code.
Ø Determine how your industry fits into industry classifications (is it too narrow or too broad?). You might have to piece your industry analysis together from many sources.
Ø Check industry profiles in databases by NAICS/SIC or keyword.
Ø Review terminology used in the databases.
Ø Explore the recommended industry websites.
Ø Check if your industry is regulated and identify the regulatory body.
Ø Who are the major players in the industry?
Ø Locate their company profiles and specifically 10-Ks /annual reports.
Ø Identify trade associations and examine their websites for news, resources, industry experts.
Ø Search trade and business publications for industry news.
Ø Try different search engines to compare results.
Ø Sometimes you might have to pick up a phone and give a call to an industry expert.
Check the Polson Enterprises' Guide to Industry Research for additional ideas.
U.S. Economic Census
Every five years the U.S. Census Bureau profiles American business at the national and local levels. The data are collected at the establishment level, i.e. a single physical location where business is conducted. The types of data collected include the number of companies for a specific NAICS code, establishements, number of employees, annual payroll, cost of benefits, cost of health insurance, cost of materials, purchased fuels, total value of shipments, advertising and marketing expenses, taxes and license fees, and more.
To learn more about industry research using the economic census, consult this book:
Industry research using the economic census : how to find it, how to use it by Jennifer C. Boettcher, 2004.
- 2007 U.S. Economic Census
- Economic Census Industry Snapshots
- American FactFinder: 2007 Economic Census & Surveys Easy access to core business statistics. Economic census datasets by sector. Find Economic Fact Sheets for industries under Business & Government on the left menu. Business and industry statistics for city, county, and zip.
- Business and Industry U.S. Census Bureau
How to Analyze an Industry
Analysis without paralysis : 10 tools to make better strategic decisions - by Babette E. Bensoussan, Craig Fleisher
ISBN/ISSN: 0132361809
HD38.7 .B4555 2008
JPL Stacks
Also available as an e-book through Safari Books Online.
Business and competitive analysis : effective application of new and classic methods - by Craig S. Fleisher and Babette E. Bensoussan
ISBN/ISSN: 0131873660
HD38.7 .F575 2007
JPL Stacks
Also available as an e-book through Safari Books Online.
Business Librarian |
Natasha ArguelloUTSA Library
JPL Reference
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210.458.7444
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Economics, Management, Management Science
Related Guides
Feedback
Acknowledgement
Special thanks to Susan M. Klopper and the Goizueta Business Library for the inspiration and many ideas in creating this guide.


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait