- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Spanish: Literature, History, Culture & Film
Spanish: Literature, History, Culture & Film
Research guide to databases, websites, and reference works for information on Spanish language literature, history, culture and film
Cervantes Images
- Don Quijote: Cromos del Mundo : Picture Cards of the WorldCall Number: JPL 4th Floor Special Collections N8215.D66 D66 2007A boxed collection of 36 cards from the Centro de Estudios de Castilla-La Mancha, issued by Kholer chocolates, Teatro Principal de Cartagena, Liebig, Au Bon Marché, Wilson Packing, and Lavazza, representing aspects of the popular iconography of Don Quixote from 1880 to 1950.
UTSA Special Collections
Special Collections is a unit of the UTSA Archives and Special Collections Department. Special Collections is a book and manuscript collection focusing primarily on San Antonio, Texas, and the Southwestern United States, Spanish Colonial Mexico and the Pacific Northwest. Of special note is the John Peace book collection concentrating on the Spanish Colonial, Mexican Republic and Republic of Texas periods.
Cervantes
- Biblioteca Virtual: Miguel de CervantesAn extensive open-access repository of Spanish historical texts and Spanish-language literature from Spain and the Americas. Includes biographies, chronologies, complete collected works, translations, sound recordings, interviews, filmographies, dictionaries, images, and more. Contains all the works of Cervantes including various historical versions. Links to other Spanish and Latin American literary sites.
- Catholic Encyclopedia--Biography of Miguel Cervantes de SaavedraA lengthy synopsis of the life of the author of el Quijote, signed by the scholar who prepared it for the Catholic Encyclopedia. This biographical sketch elaborates on many events in Cervantes's life and provides commentary on his work.
- Centro de Estudios Cervantinos httThis website, hosted at the Universidad de Alcalá de Henares in Spain, offers access in Spanish to texts of Cervantes's poetry, novels, and plays; a biography/chronology of his life; portraits of the author; and criticism and debate about his work.
http://cervantes.uah.es/ - H-CervantesH-Cervantes is part of H-Net, Humanities and Social Sciences On-Line, a service sponsored by Michigan State University. This site features an archive of full-text discussions and messages from the H-Cervantes listserv, a scholarly email discussion group. Also links to other Cervantes websites and illustrations from editions of Cervantes's works.
- The Cervantes Encyclopedia byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PQ6337 .A2 2004
- Gran Enciclopedia Cervantina byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor PQ6337 .G685(11 volumes when complete; currently: v. 1. A buen bocado-Aubigne v. 2. Auden-Casa de los Celos v. 3. Casa de Moneda-Cueva, Juan de la) v. 4. Cueva de Montesinos-Entrela Zamineto v. 5. Entremes-Garcia de Arrieta, A. v.6 Garcí́a de paredes, D. Ínsula Barataria, la v.7 Ínsula Firme-Luterano. v. 8. Luz-Muzaraque v.9